‘Paura’, Italian Horror Sounds From CAM Sugar Archives, Announced

‘Paura’, a new collection of previously unreleased rare Italian horror sounds from the CAM Sugar archives, has been announced to mark Friday 13th!

Published on

Paura Italian horror album cover

Paura, a new collection of previously unreleased rare Italian horror soundtracks remastered from the CAM Sugar archives, will be released on 1 October 2021. The spine-tingling compilation, which features 11 previously unreleased tracks, explores the many different faces of Italian horror cinema and their soundtracks, spanning the esoteric and supernatural features of the 1970s to the slasher and splatter films of the 1980s.

PAURA – A Collection Of Italian Horror Sounds From The CAM SUGAR Archive (Album Trailer)

Click to load video

Paura features composers including Ennio Morricone

Paura includes some of the most creative and terrifying compositions ever written for Italian horror films and features well-known composers, including Ennio Morricone, Riz Ortolani and Stelvio Cipriani, as well as long-forgotten personalities who represented the backbone of Italian cinema including as Daniele Patucchi, Marcello Giombini and Berto Pisano. The exceptional guests include Edda Dell’Orso, vocalist of Ennio Morricone, and Goblin, the prog rock band renowned for their collaboration with Dario Argento.

Listen to Bruno Nicolai’s haunting score for La Dama Rossa Uccide Sette Volte (The Red Queen Kills Seven Times) if you dare! Nicolai met Morricone when they were both studying at Rome’s Santa Cecilia Music Academy. He was the conductor on many of the Maestro’s scores, including For a Few Dollars More, and composed many soundtracks throughout the 1960s and 1970s.

La dama rossa uccide sette volte (From "La dama rossa uccide sette volte" / Remastered 2021)

Click to load video

Franco Micalizzi’s ‘Bargain with the Devil #3’, from Chi Sei?, which was sampled by Hip Hop legend Pete Rock in Kali Uchis’ song ‘After the Storm’ featuring Tyler The Creator and Bootsy Collins, one of the many tracks from CAM’s archives to be sampled by acclaimed contemporary artists, is also featured on Paura, released for the first time on vinyl.

A hypnotic, sonic journey into a labyrinth of fear

Paura features an eclectic menu of Italian horror delights including enigmatic vocals, childlike lullabies, romantic melodies, obsessive rhythms, haunting percussion, and threatening synthesizers, creating a hypnotic, sonic journey into a labyrinth of fear.

Paura will be released on 6 CD digipak, standard black and red splattered 2LP gatefold vinyl on 1 October 2021. A limited-edition deluxe tombstone boxset, featuring red splattered 2LP vinyl, alternative artwork, poster, fanzine with original film posters and an exclusive red vinyl 45rpm featuring 2 bonus tracks: ‘L’Ossessa’ by Marcello Giombini and the previously unreleased ‘Le Facce della Morte’ by Daniele Patucchi, will be released on 15 October 2021.

Between the late 1950s and the mid-1980s Italian horror, one of the most iconic and globally-acclaimed genres in the history of cinema, fascinated the world long before becoming the main competitor of American cinema. Their soundtracks, like the films themselves, have been collected and venerated over the years by a cult fandom across the globe. Their appeal is a result of their often artisanal approach, underground attitude, and groundbreaking musical and cinematic innovations.

CAM Sugar is undoubtedly the most extensive and representative catalogue of Italian original soundtracks, and the winner of over 500 international awards including an Oscar for Best Original Score for Il Postino.

Paura is out on 6 CD digipak, standard black and red splattered 2LP gatefold vinyl on 1 October, and a limited-edition deluxe tombstone boxset will be released on 15 October 2021 – pre-order here.

Do you want to be the first to hear the latest news from the classical world? Follow uDiscover Classical on Facebook and Twitter.

Format: Union Jack flagUK English
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

uDiscover Music - Back To Top
uDiscover Music - Back To Top