Renée Fleming Returns With Her New Album ‘Lieder’

The world’s most beloved soprano, Renée Fleming, releases her new album ‘Lieder’, spanning six decades of German song, on 14 June.

Published on

Renee Fleming Lieder Cover

Four-time Grammy winning soprano Renée Fleming releases her first full-length lieder album for almost two decades on 14 June. The release date coincides with her London musical theatre debut, performing the role of Margaret Johnson in the Tony-winning musical The Light In The Piazza at the Royal Festival Hall.

Renée Fleming’s new album Lieder, spanning six decades of German song, features songs by Brahms, Schumann, and Mahler, each of whom bring Romantic poetry to life. Fleming is partnered by her long-standing artistic collaborator Hartmut Höll on piano for songs by Brahms, including the beloved Brahms’ ‘Lullaby’, and also for Schumann’s ‘Frauenliebe Und-Leben’. She is joined by Christian Thielemann and the Munich Philharmonic for a performance of Mahler’s ‘Rückert Lieder’.

Brahms: WIegenlied (Lullaby) , Op. 49, No. 4

Click to load video

“I love lieder for the marriage of poetry and music that allows both profound emotion and the most intimate, nuanced expression”, said Renée Fleming. “The German lied is, for me, both the foundation and the pinnacle of song literature. I am especially excited to have been able to collaborate with some of the greatest interpreters in the world for this repertoire.”

Renée Fleming, the world’s most beloved soprano, appears on the world’s leading opera stages and concert halls. Winner of the U.S. National Medal of Arts and Female Artist of the Year at the 2018 Classic Brit Awards, the “people’s diva” has been sought after for numerous distinguished occasions, from the Nobel Peace Prize ceremony to the Diamond Jubilee Concert for HM Queen Elizabeth II at Buckingham Palace.

She stars in the London premiere of the Tony-winning musical The Light In The Piazza at the Royal Festival Hall for four weeks in June 2019.

Renée Fleming’s Lieder is out on 14 June and can be pre-ordered here – scroll down to read the full tracklisting.


The full tracklisting for Renée Fleming’s Lieder is:

1. ‘Wiegenlied’ (‘Lullaby’), Op. 49, No. 4
2. ‘Ständchen’, Op. 106, No. 1
3. ‘Lerchengesang’, Op. 70, No. 2
4. ‘Mondnacht’, WoO 21
5. ‘Des Liebsten Schwur’, Op. 69, No. 4
6. ‘Die Mainacht’, Op. 43, No. 2
7. ‘Du Unten Im Tale’, WoO 33, No. 6
8. ‘Vergebliches Ständchen’

Frauenliebe Und Leben, Op. 42
9. ‘Seit Ich Ihn Gesehen’
10. ‘Er, Der Herrlichste Von Allen’
11. ‘Ich Kann’s Nicht Fassen, Nicht Glauben’
12. ‘Du Ring An Meinem Finger’
13. ‘Helft Mir, Ihr Schwestern’
14. ‘Süßer Fruend, Du Blickest’.
15. ‘An Meinem Herzen, An Meiner Brust’
16. ‘Nun Hast Du Mir Den Ersten Schmerz Getan’

17. ‘Ich Atmet’ Einen Linden Duft’
18. ‘Liebst Du Um Schönheit’
19. ‘Um Mitternacht’
20. ‘Blicke Mir Nicht In Die Lieder!’
21. ‘Ich Bin Der Welt Abhanden Gekommen’

Format: Union Jack flagUK English
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

uDiscover Music - Back To Top
uDiscover Music - Back To Top