Ambrose Akinmusire Announces New Blue Note Album ‘Origami Harvest’

The acclaimed composer and trumpeter’s new record is released by the legendary Jazz imprint on 12 October.

Published on

Video Ambrose Akinmusire Origami Harvest

Composer and trumpeter Ambrose Akinmusire has announced the release of his new studio album Origami Harvest, which will be released on 12 October through Blue Note.

The album’s genesis came from a challenge of sorts. It was a commission from curators Judd Greenstein of Manhattan’s Ecstatic Music Festival and Kate Nordstrum of St. Paul’s Liquid Music Series that began with Greenstein asking, “What’s the craziest idea you have?” Considering “challenge” and “crazy” are the order of the day, Akinmusire’s reply was right on time: “I wanted to do a project about extremes and putting things that are seemingly opposite right next to each other.” The result is a surprisingly fluid study in contrasts that—with help from New York’s Mivos Quartet and art-rap expatriate Kool A.D. along with drummer Marcus Gilmore, pianist Sam Harris, and others—pits contemporary classical wilding against deconstructed hip-hop, with bursts of left-field jazz, funk, spoken word, and soul.

That the album’s spirit evokes this era is no accident. These songs actively respond to societal divides, the way our politics hold us emotionally hostage, and the ever-growing list of black lives ended by structural racism. As with each of this Oakland native’s works there’s beauty and artistry here, each track a world unto itself lithely traversing moods and modes. “Origami,” says Ambrose Akinmusire, “refers to the different ways black people, especially men, have to fold, whether in failure or to fit a mold. Then I had a son while writing this and I thought about these cycles repeating: Harvest.”

Rolling Stone caught the trumpeter’s performance of the new work last month at the Newport Jazz Festival and raved “Akinmusire framed the incisive monologues of rapper Kool A.D. with spacey beats and elegant strings courtesy of contemporary-classical group Mivos Quartet, resulting in an ingenious, brain-bending hybrid.”

“I was thinking a lot about the masculine and the feminine. High and low art. Free improvisation versus controlled calculation. American ghettos and American affluence,” says Akinmusire. “Originally, I thought I put them all so close together that it would highlight the fact that there isn’t as much space between these supposed extremes as we thought, but I don’t know if that’s actually the conclusion of it.” The answer, of course, is being written all around us.

The track listing for Origami Harvest is as follows:

‘A Blooming Bloodfruit In A Hoodie’
‘Miracle And Streetfight’
‘Americana’ / ‘The Garden Waits For You To Match Her Wilderness’
‘Particle’ / ‘Spectra’
‘Free, White And 21’
‘The Lingering Velocity Of The Deads’ Ambitions’


Format: Union Jack flagUK English
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

uDiscover Music - Back To Top
uDiscover Music - Back To Top