Bombay Bicycle Club Announce New Album, ‘Everything Else Has Gone Wrong’

The new album was recorded with Grammy Award winning producer John Congleton (St. Vincent/Sharon Van Etten/War on Drugs).

Published on

Bombay Bicycle Club Announce Album

Bombay Bicycle Club have announced that their long-awaited new album, Everything Else Has Gone Wrong will be released on 17 January 2020 through Caroline International/Island Records. It is the eagerly anticipated follow-up to the British band’s acclaimed No 1 charting, Mercury Music Prize nominated fourth album, So Long, See You Tomorrow released back in 2014.

The new album was largely recorded out in the US alongside Grammy Award winning producer John Congleton (St. Vincent/Sharon Van Etten/War on Drugs). It features the band’s euphoric new single, ‘Eat, Sleep, Wake (Nothing But You)’. The song’s video was directed by Louis Bhose, the band’s old touring keyboardist who has quickly become the go-to director for countless artists in recent years (Michael Kiwanuka & Tom Misch, Lewis Capaldi, The Big Moon, Loyle Carner). It was shot out in Ukraine and you can check it out below.

Bombay Bicycle Club - Eat, Sleep, Wake (Nothing But You)

Click to load video

Speaking of the record’s title, vocalist/guitarist Jack Steadman explains: “This is an album for anyone who’s ever turned to music in a time of need.  It’s about the solace one can get from listening to music or playing music.  For me personally it’s about the frustration of not being able to express myself to others, of leaving conversations feeling dissatisfied and misunderstood but relying on music to communicate.”

Bombay Bicycle Club have continued to grow, develop and evolve since the release of their debut album, I Had The Blues But I Shook Them Loose, back in 2009 when they signalled their arrival as young teenagers. Rarely in recent years has there been a British guitar band who have the craft and ability to avoid categorisation whilst uniting hundreds of thousands of fans across the globe.

To coincide with the new album’s announcement, Bombay Bicycle Club are also excited to share a thirteen date UK and Ireland headline tour which immediately follows its release.

“Playing together again is such an unexpected surprise for the 4 of us and yet from the first moment we started rehearsing it felt as natural as if we’d played a show the night before.  We feel a freshness playing live and in the studio that I think can only come from having taken a step back and now we just want to play these new songs to as many people in as many countries as we can”, says Steadman.

The shows kick off on the 20 January at Cambridge Corn Exchange and wrap up at Ulster Hall in Belfast on 12 February. The run includes a show at London’s Alexandra Palace on the 7 February.  Early-access pre-sale tickets are available to those who pre-order the album by 5pm on the 10 September and the shows go on general sale from 10am on the 13 September. Visit the band’s official website for further information.

As previously announced, Bombay Bicycle Club will follow their recent live return at Wilderness Festival with a tour of the US in September and October, ahead of a handful of UK shows to celebrate ten years of their debut album, I Had The Blues But I Shook Them Loose. These shows, including a return to Brixton Academy, sold out in seconds.

Bombay Bicycle Club play the following UK and Irish tour dates in 2020:

20 January – Corn Exchange, Cambridge
21 January – Academy, Bournemouth
23 January – De Montfort Hall, Leicester
24 January – University SU Great Hall, Cardiff
25 January – Academy, Leeds
27 January – Academy, Newcastle
28 January – Barrowland, Glasgow
31 January – Academy, Birmingham
1 February – The Centre, Brighton
3 February – Victoria Warehouse, Manchester
7 February – Alexandra Palace, London
10 February – Vicar Street, Dublin
12 February – Ulster Hall, Belfast.

Everything Else Has Gone Wrong is out on 17 January and can be bought here


Format: Union Jack flagUK English
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

uDiscover Music - Back To Top
uDiscover Music - Back To Top