Stephan Moccio Announces New Christmas Album ‘Winter Poems’

Stephan Moccio will release his first Christmas album ‘Winter Poems’, featuring piano arrangements of timeless classics, in November 2020.

Published on

Stephan Moccio Winter Poems album cover

Grammy and Academy Award-nominated composer, songwriter and producer Stephan Moccio has announced he will release his first Christmas album, Winter Poems, on 6 November 2020. Listen to the new singles ‘Carol of the Bells’ and ‘Christmas Time is Here’ released today.

Carol of the Bells (arr. piano)

Click to load video

After writing chart-topping hits for global artists including ‘Wrecking Ball’ for Miley Cyrus, ‘A New Day Has Come’ for Celine Dion and ‘Earned It’ for The Weeknd – a track featured in the film Fifty Shades of Grey for which he received an Oscar nomination – Stephan Moccio decided to return to his roots in classical composition, and to the instrument he knows best, the piano.

Stephan Moccio started playing the piano when he was only three years old. Fascinated by Tchaikovsky, Mozart and Chopin, as well as the songs he heard on American radio stations, his diverse perspective took shape early on. He studied classical piano at the University of Western Ontario, completed a Bachelor of Arts degree in composition and piano performance in 1994, and signed his first publishing deal with Sony/ATV in 1995.

Stephan Moccio’s previous album, Tales of Solace, took inspiration from some of life’s most profound themes including love and relationships. He puts that same sentiment into his new album, Winter Poems, which features peaceful and melodic solo piano arrangements of timeless classics including ‘Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas’, ‘O Holy Night’ and several original compositions.

Stephan Moccio explained, “My intention with this instrumental music, is that these poems and hymns will transcend cultures. These timeless melodies are like wordless poems, told with simply one instrument, my piano. My hope is to have every listener feel like I am playing to them solely.”

Christmas Time Is Here (arr. piano)

Click to load video

Stephan Moccio’s Winter Poems will be released on 6 November 2020. Scroll down to read the full tracklisting and pre-order the album here.

The full tracklisting for Winter Poems is:

‘Christmas Time Is Here’
‘The Little Drummer Boy’
‘The Christmas Song’
‘Walking In The Air’
‘Carol of the Bells’
‘White Christmas’
‘Frost’ (Original)
‘Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas’
‘What Child Is This’
‘Petit Papa Noël’
‘O Holy Night’
‘Wistful’ (Original)
‘O Come, All Ye Faithful’
‘Winter Waltz’ (Original)

Do you want to be the first to hear the latest news from the classical world? Follow uDiscover Classical on Facebook and Twitter.

Format: Union Jack flagUK English
1 Comment

1 Comment

  1. Andrée Hénault

    March 30, 2021 at 3:47 pm


    Durant la période des fêtes 2020 j’ai tenté de me procurer Winter Poems dans des magasins de disques, malheureusement sans succès. Y-a-t-il un endroit où on peut se le procurer ? Je m’y prends un peu d’avance mais j’aimerais bien en acheter quelques copies pour en donner au prochain Noël .(2021)

    Merci !

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

uDiscover Music - Back To Top
uDiscover Music - Back To Top