Carrie Underwood, Maren Morris And Brothers Osbourne Lead CMA Nominations

The CMAs will be broadcast on ABC from Nashville’s Bridgestone Arena on 13 November.

Published on

Carrie Underwood Cry Pretty A Randee St Nicholas 1000
Photo: Randee St Nicholas, courtesy of UMG Nashville

The nominees for the 53rd annual CMA Awards were announced this morning on 28 August, with Maren Morris and Brothers Osbourne leading the pack and Carrie Underwood receiving a CMA nod for entertainer of the year.

This marks the first time in three years that a female artist has been nominated for entertainer of the year. The most recent female country artist to win that top award was Taylor Swift eight years ago.

In Country Music Association had come under some criticism in recent years for nominating an exclusively male cast for entertainer of the year. But with an all-female hosting line-up for this year’s show that includes Underwood, Dolly Parton and Reba McEntire, the CMAs are shaping up to be a more inclusive show.

Morris leads the pack with six nominations, followed by Brothers Osbourne with four and Dan + Shay, Eric Church, Kacey Musgraves, Chris Stapleton and Dierks Bentley all tied with three nominations. Competing with Underwood for Entertainer of the Year are Garth Brooks, Eric Church, Chris Stapleton and Keith Urban.

Other exciting nominations include the Austin trio Midland for Best Vocal Group and Best New Artist, as well as Thomas Rhett for Best Male Vocalist and Album Of The Year for his 2019 release, Center Point Road.

While Lil Nas X’s ‘Old Town Road’ was essentially shut out of the CMAs, the remix version featuring Billy Ray Cyrus picked up one nod for Musical Event of the Year.

The CMAs will be broadcast on ABC from Nashville’s Bridgestone Arena on 13 November. See the full list of nominees below.

Entertainer of the Year

Garth Brooks
Eric Church
Chris Stapleton
Carrie Underwood
Keith Urban

Single of the Year

‘Burning Man’ – Dierks Bentley Feat. Brothers Osborne
Producers: Ross Copperman, Jon Randall, Arturo Buenahora, Jr.
Mix Engineer: F. Reid Shippen

‘GIRL’ – Maren Morris
Producer: Greg Kurstin
Mix Engineer: Greg Kurstin

‘God’s Country’ – Blake Shelton
Producer: Scott Hendricks
Mix Engineer: Justin Niebank

‘Millionaire’ – Chris Stapleton
Producers: Dave Cobb, Chris Stapleton
Mix Engineer: Vance Powell

‘Speechless’ – Dan + Shay
Producers: Dan Smyers, Scott Hendricks
Mix Engineer: Jeff Juliano

Album Of The Year

Center Point Road – Thomas Rhett
Producers: Dann Huff, Jesse Frasure, Thomas Rhett, Julian Bunetta, The Stereotypes, Cleve Wilson

Cry Pretty – Carrie Underwood
Producers: David Garcia, Jim Jonsin, Carrie Underwood

Dan + Shay – Dan + Shay
Producers: Dan Smyers, Scott Hendricks

Desperate Man– Eric Church
Producers: Jay Joyce, Arturo Buenahora, Jr.

GIRL – Maren Morris
Producers: busbee, Maren Morris, Greg Kurstin

Song Of The Year

‘Beautiful Crazy’
Songwriters: Luke Combs, Wyatt B. Durrette III, Robert Williford

Songwriters: Maren Morris, Sarah Aarons, Greg Kurstin

‘God’s Country’
Songwriters: Devin Dawson, Jordan Schmidt, Michael Hardy

Songwriters: Natalie Hemby, Shane McAnally, Kacey Musgraves

Songwriters: Dan Smyers, Nicolle Galyon, Jordan Reynolds

Female Vocalist Of The Year

Kelsea Ballerini
Miranda Lambert
Maren Morris
Kacey Musgraves
Carrie Underwood

Male Vocalist Of The Year

Dierks Bentley
Luke Combs
Thomas Rhett
Chris Stapleton
Keith Urban

Vocal Group Of The Year

Lady Antebellum
Little Big Town
Old Dominion
Zac Brown Band

Vocal Duo Of The Year

Brooks & Dunn
Brothers Osborne
Dan + Shay
Florida Georgia Line
Maddie & Tae

Musical Event Of The Year

‘All My Favorite People’ – Maren Morris (feat. Brothers Osborne)
Producers: Maren Morris, busbee

‘Brand New Man’ – Brooks & Dunn (with Luke Combs)
Producer: Dann Huff

‘Dive Bar’ – Garth Brooks & Blake Shelton

Format: Union Jack flagUK English
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

uDiscover Music - Back To Top
uDiscover Music - Back To Top