Visualizer For Joy Oladokun And Maren Morris’ ‘Bigger Man’ Out Now

The track is on Oladokun’s just-released ‘in defense of my own happiness’ and its deluxe edition, which follows on July 9.

Published on

Joy Oladokun credit Nolan Wright
Photo: Nolan Wright

A visualizer for “Bigger Man,” Joy Oladokun’s new collaboration with Maren Morris, has made its debut today (2). The track is from Oladokun’s major label debut in defense of my own happiness, which came out to widespread acclaim last month. It will also be on the deluxe edition, in defense of my own happiness (complete), which follows next Friday (July 9) via Amigo Records/Verve Forecast/Republic Records.

Joy Oladokun with Maren Morris - Bigger Man (Official Visualizer)

Click to load video

The extended edition includes all 14 tracks from the original album and adds the ten that formed her self-released 2020 record, in defense of my own happiness (the beginnings), plus one new song, “judas.” Oladokun’s impressive rise continued last week with her debut appearance on The Late Show with Stephen Colbert, on which she performed “sunday” at Nashville’s newly-opened National Museum of African American Music.

in defense of my own happiness was recently named by Rolling Stone as one of its “Best Albums of 2021 So Far” and by Billboard as one of its “Best Albums by LGBTQ Artists of 2021 So Far.” It features collaborations with Jensen McRae (“wish you the best”) and Penny & Sparrow (“heaven from here”).

Joy Oladokun "sunday"

Click to load video

As Vogue put it, “Joy Oladokun is a rare talent who manages to dissect Christianity, queerness, race and mental wellness with a delicate yet determined touch.” She’s on the road from July 23, when she plays Newport Folk Festival, with guest dates in August opening for Jason Isbell.

Buy or stream in defense of my own happiness.

The full tracklist for in defense of my own happiness (complete) is: 

1. jordan

2. smoke

3. if you got a problem

4. i see america

5. heaven from here (featuring Penny & Sparrow)

6. younger days

7. sunday

8. bad blood

9. lost

10. who do i turn to?

11. sorry isn’t good enough

12. taking the heat

13. someone that i used to be

14. brick by brick

15. unwelcoming

16. Bigger Man (featuring Maren Morris)

17. mercy (featuring Tim Gent)

18. let it be me

19. judas

20. mighty die young

21. breathe again

22. too high

23. look up

24. wish you the best (featuring Jensen McRae)

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

uDiscover Music - Back To Top
uDiscover Music - Back To Top