Nubya Garcia Announces Album ‘SOURCE,’ Shares Title Track

The acclaimed tenor saxophonist‘s solo debut is due out August 21 via Concord Jazz.

Published on

nubya Garcia source

Acclaimed British jazz artist Nubya Garcia has announced her full-length debut, SOURCE, available August 21 via Concord Jazz. Ahead of the album, the tenor saxophonist premiered the album’s expansive title track, which features her Nerija bandmate, Cassie Kinoshi (alto sax), as well as Ms Maurice (trumpet), and Richie Seivwright (trombone).

Click to load video

“Source” follows Garcia’s lavish single “Pace,” which marks the opening track of her forthcoming album. Co-produced by Garcia and Kwes, whose lengthy credits include titles by Solange, Bobby Womack, and Nérija, among many others, SOURCE features the tenor saxophonist’s bandmates – keyboardist Joe Armon-Jones, bassist Daniel Casimir, and drummer Sam Jones. In addition to the guests listed above, the album also features contributions from singer, pianist, and composer, Akenya, who provides vocals in the closing track, “Boundless Beings,” and Colombian percussion group, La Perla, who join on “La cumbia me esta llamando.”

SOURCE marks the much-anticipated follow-up to Garcia’s two highly-acclaimed EPs: 2017’s Nubya’s 5ive, and 2018’s When We Are, the title track of which was named one of NPR’s Best Songs Of 2018. Garcia can also be heard on five of the nine tracks on We Out Here; the landmark compilation celebrating London’s thriving jazz scene.

Born and raised in North London, Nubya Garcia began playing saxophone at the age of 10. She studied under pianist Nikki Yeoh at Camden Music, before joining Gary Crosby’s Tomorrow’s Warriors in her late teens, and completing her training at Trinity Laban Conservatoire of Music. In 2018, Garcia won the Jazz FM Breakthrough Act of the Year Award and the Sky Arts Breakthrough Act of the Year Award. A year later, she received Jazz FM UK Jazz Act of the Year Award. An incredible live performer, she’s toured extensively on her own, as well as with the contemporary septet, Nerija, playing venues and festivals around the world. When she’s not on the road, Garcia can be heard on NTS Radio, where she hosts one of the station’s top radio shows.

Scroll down to view the tracklist for SOURCE, and preorder it here.

SOURCE tracklist:
1 Pace
2 The Message Continues
3 Source [ft. Ms MAURICE, Casie Kinoshi and Richie Seivwright]
4 Together Is a Beautiful Place to Be
5 Stand With Each Other [ft. Ms MAURICE, Cassie Kinoshi and Richie Seivwright]
6 Inner Game
7 La cumbia me esta llamando [ft. La Perla]
8 Before: Us in Demerara & Caura [ft. Ms MAURICE]
9 Boundless Beings [ft. Akenya]

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

uDiscover Music - Back To Top
uDiscover Music - Back To Top