Puss N Boots, ft. Norah Jones, Announce Second Album, ‘Sister’

The band also play two New York City album release shows – at Rough Trade in Brooklyn and the Bowery Ballroom in Manhattan – to mark the release.

Published on

Puss N Boots New Album Sister
Photo: Danny Clinch

Puss N Boots—the trio featuring Norah Jones, Sasha Dobson, and Catherine Popper—have announced that their second full-length album, Sister, will be released on 14 February through Blue Note Records. The first single, ‘It’s Not Easy’ featuring a lead vocal by Jones is out now, and you can check it out below.

Click to load video

The band will also play two New York City album release shows—14 February at Rough Trade in Brooklyn and 15 February at Bowery Ballroom in Manhattan—and appear at the 2020 New Orleans Jazz & Heritage Festival on April 25. Additional tour dates will be announced shortly.

Sister is a collection of originals written by the band members collectively and individually, mixed with loving covers of songs by Tom Petty (‘Angel Dream’), Dolly Parton (‘The Grass Is Blue’), Paul Westerberg (‘It’s a Wonderful Lie’), and Concrete Blonde (‘Joey’). Jones, Dobson, and Popper each take turns delivering lead vocals and also pick up multiple instruments throughout the album trading off on guitar, bass, and drums.

“This band has always been a great adventure,” says Jones. “Sasha and Cat’s fearlessness eggs me on to try new things, be it playing guitar, drums, writing a new way or wearing an elf costume on stage. We feed off of each other’s eagerness to jump in, sink or swim. And singing together feels like the most natural thing in the world. It’s a real privilege to have found this space together, try different things and to watch this band grow into what is at this moment.  It is ever evolving and so fun.”

“For me this band has always been an incredible and uniquely safe outlet for trying new things,” adds Dobson. “For example, I’d been writing all year on bass but was too shy to tell anyone, but when Norah asked me if I had anything new, before I knew it we were covering those tunes and I was playin’ bass in the band!”

“We were rehearsing for something and we took a break,” recalls Popper. “I sat at the drums and started messing around, Norah came back and picked up a guitar and riffed, and Sasha picked up the bass, and in an hour we had ‘It’s Not Easy.’ My band mates just love to make music and it’s been a great learning experience for me about setting my ego aside and taking a chance.”

Sister is out on 14 February. Scroll down to read the full tracklist and buy it here.

‘Jamola’ (Sasha Dobson, Norah Jones, Catherine Popper)
‘It’s Not Easy’ (Sasha Dobson, Norah Jones, Catherine Popper)
‘Nothing You Can Do’ (Sasha Dobson)
‘Lucky’ (Catherine Popper)
‘You And Me’ (Sasha Dobson)
‘You Don’t Know’ (Norah Jones)
‘The Great Romancer’ (Sasha Dobson, Don Was)
‘It’s A Wonderful Lie’ (Paul Westerberg)
‘Sister’ (Sasha Dobson, Norah Jones, Catherine Popper)
‘The Razor Song’ (Catherine Popper)
‘Angel Dream’ (Tom Petty)
‘Same Old Bullshit’ (Helen Rogers)
‘Joey’ (Johnette Napolitano) **CD & digital album only**
‘The Grass Is Blue’ (Dolly Parton) **CD & digital album only**

Format: Union Jack flagUK English
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

uDiscover Music - Back To Top
uDiscover Music - Back To Top