Rolling Stones Announce ‘Steel Wheels Live’ Concert Film Home Release

The release will be complemented by a double A-sided 10” picture disc for Record Store Day on September 26.

Published on

Rolling Stones Steel Wheels Live credit Paul Natkin
Photo: Paul Natkin

The Rolling Stones have announced the forthcoming appearance of their previously unreleased 1989 concert film Steel Wheels Live – Atlantic City, New Jersey. It’s been restored, remixed and remastered from the band’s archive and will be out in multiple formats on September 25.

The Rolling Stones - Steel Wheels Live (Trailer)

Click to load video

To complement the release, a double A-sided 10” picture disc of “Rock and a Hard Place” (Live from Atlantic City) and “Almost Hear You Sigh” (Live from Tokyo Dome) will be available for Record Store Day on September 26. The format will be exclusive to independent record stores worldwide.

Steel Wheels was the Stones’ first US tour since 1981, and saw the band in expansive, ambitious and spectacular form, with shows of two and a half hours. Their already-fabled catalogue of hits was accompanied in the setlist by several tracks from the just-released Steel Wheels album, released in late August, 1989.

Rolling Stones Steel Wheels Live credit Kevin Mazur

Photo: Kevin Mazur

These included “Terrifying,” “Sad Sad Sad,” the US top five hit single “Mixed Emotions,” “Rock and a Hard Place” and “Can’t Be Seen.” They take their place in the Atlantic City Convention Center show, that December, with such timeless favorites as “Jumping Jack Flash.” “(I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction,” “You Can’t Always Get What You Want” and “Gimme Shelter.”

“I would hate to come out with something that’s not startling,” said Mick Jagger on the launch of the 1989/90 Steel Wheels Tour. Needless to say the Stones kept their word, all the more so on the Atlantic City date with a series of remarkable guest appearances.

Rolling Stones Steel Wheels Live credit Dimo Safari

Photo: Dimo Safari

Axl Rose and Izzy Stradlin of Guns N’ Roses accompanied the Stones on the first-ever live performance of “Salt Of The Earth,” from 1968’s classic Beggars Banquet album. Old friend Eric Clapton joined them for “Little Red Rooster” and was also on board as they welcomed one of their idols, blues giant John Lee Hooker, on “Boogie Chillen.”

Steel Wheels Live will be released as a special limited 6-disc version, which includes the Atlantic City performance on DVD, SD-Blu-ray, 2CD, a DVD of their Steel Wheels tour performance at the famed Tokyo Dome, plus Steel Wheels Rare Reels, a CD containing tracks that weren’t part of the core tour setlist. Other formats are a limited edition 180 gram 4LP coloured vinyl; 4LP black vinyl; DVD, SD Blu-ray, DVD + 2CD, SD Blu-ray + 2CD and digital formats.

Steel Wheels Live – Atlantic City, New Jersey is released on September 25. Pre-order it here.

The full Steel Wheels Live tracklist is:

1. Intro
2. “Start Me Up”
3. “Bitch”
4. “Sad Sad Sad”
5. “Undercover Of The Night”
6. “Harlem Shuffle”
7. “Tumbling Dice”
8. Miss You”
9. “Terrifying”
10. “Ruby Tuesday”
11. “Salt Of The Earth” (featuring Axl Rose & Izzy Stradlin)
12. “Rock And A Hard Place”
13. “Mixed Emotions”
14. “Honky Tonk Women”
15. “Midnight Rambler”
16. “You Can’t Always Get What You Want”
17. “Little Red Rooster” (featuring Eric Clapton)
18. “Boogie Chillen” (featuring Eric Clapton & John Lee Hooker)
19. “Can’t Be Seen”
20. “Happy”
21. “Paint It Black”
22. “2,000 Light Years From Home”
23. “Sympathy For The Devil”
24. “Gimme Shelter”
25. “It’s Only Rock n Roll (But I Like It)”
26. “Brown Sugar”
27. “(I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction”
28. “Jumpin’ Jack Flash”

Special 6-disc version also includes:

1. Intro
2. “Start Me Up”
3. “Bitch”
4. “Sad Sad Sad”
5. “Harlem Shuffle”
6. “Tumbling Dice”
7. “Miss You”
8. “Ruby Tuesday”
9. “Almost Hear You Sigh”
10. “Rock And A Hard Place”
11. “Mixed Emotions”
12. “Honky Tonk Women”
13. “Midnight Rambler”
14. “You Can’t Always Get What You Want”
15. “Can’t Be Seen”
16. “Happy”
17. “Paint It Black”
18. “2,000 Light Years From Home”
19. “Sympathy For The Devil”
20. “Gimme Shelter”
21. “It’s Only Rock’n’Roll (But I Like It)”
22. “Brown Sugar”
23. “(I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction”
24. “Jumpin’ Jack Flash”

1. “Play with Fire”
(CNE Stadium, Toronto, On 03/09/89)
2. “Dead Flowers”
(CNE Stadium, Toronto, On 03/09/89)
3. “Almost Hear You Sigh”
(Wembley Stadium, London 06/07/90)
4. “I Just Want to Make Love to You”
(Wembley Stadium, London 06/07/90)
5. “Street Fighting Man”
(Wembley Stadium, London 06/07/90)

Listen to the best of the Rolling Stones on Apple Music and Spotify.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

uDiscover Music - Back To Top
uDiscover Music - Back To Top