Sam Smith Shares Single ‘Diamonds,’ Announces New Album

‘Love Goes,’ Smith’s highly-anticipated third studio album, is set for release October 30.

Published on

Sam Smith
Photo: Courtesy Capitol Records/YouTube

Sam Smith has given their fans an early weekend treat by announcing the release of their new album, Love Goes, out October 30 via Capitol Records. The LP marks Smith’s long-awaited follow-up to 2017’s chart-topping The Thrill of It All. Alongside their announcement, Smith premiered a brand-new single, the defiant “Diamonds.”

Sam Smith - Diamonds (Official Music Video)

Click to load video

The visual for the song – which tells a tale of love lived without regret – finds Smith reuniting with Luke Monaghan, who previously directed videos for “How Do You Sleep,” “Too Good At Goodbyes,” and “Writing’s On The Wall.”

“Diamonds” marks the latest cut off Love Goes, and comes on the heels of “My Oasis” with Burna Boy. It also follows a series of collaborative singles, which will all be available as bonus tracks on the album. They include the multi-platinum global hit “Dancing With A Stranger,” feat. Normani, “Promises” feat. Calvin Harris, and the joyful “I’m Ready” feat. Demi Lovato.

When it came to writing and recording their third studio album, Smith enlisted an all-star team, including Steve Mac (Ed Sheeran, Celine Dion), Shellback/MXM (Robyn, Pink, Britney Spears), Labrinth, masterminds Stargate, as well as good friend Guy Lawrence of Disclosure and long-term collaborator Jimmy Napes.

The two-year-long project, says Smith, “has been the most experimental time of my life, personally but also musically. Every time I went into the studio, I promised myself I would shoot for the stars and have no limitations. The result has been so magical and so therapeutic and FUN.”

They continued, in a statement, “my love for music is so broad and all of my musical guilty pleasures became pleasures. No guilt, no shame, just the love of singing and creating and dancing. I am so thankful to every human who embraced my creativity and direction and allowed me to be whoever I wanted to be in that studio on that day.”

Smith also asked their fans to “listen to these songs with an open heart and treat each song like a different flower from the garden, have fun with them, I tried not to take myself too seriously when writing a few of these songs. I hope they make you smile, because they made and make me.”

Love Goes is available October 30. Scroll down to view the tracklist and preorder it here.

Love Goes tracklist:
1. Young
2. Diamonds
3. Another One
4. My Oasis (feat. Burna Boy)
5. So Serious
6. Dance (‘Til You Love Someone Else)
7. For The Lover That I Lost
8. Breaking Hearts
9. Forgive Myself
10. Love Goes (feat. Labrinth)
11. Kids Again

Bonus Tracks:

1. Dancing With A Stranger (Sam Smith & Normani)
2. How Do You Sleep?
3. To Die For
4. I’m Ready (Sam Smith & Demi Lovato)
5. Fire On Fire
6. Promises (Calvin Harris & Sam Smith)

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

uDiscover Music - Back To Top
uDiscover Music - Back To Top