Watch Steve Perry’s Emotional Video For ‘No More Cryin’’

Former Journey frontman Steve Perry has released another stirring visual for his track ‘No More Cryin’ off his upcoming solo album ‘Traces’.

Published on

Steve Perry Album Traces

Former Journey frontman Steve Perry has released another stirring visual, this time for his track ‘No More Cryin’ off his upcoming solo album Traces, his first material in almost 25 years.

Following the release of the album’s first single ‘No Erasin’, Perry once again shows off his vocal prowess on the emotional track, ‘No Cryin’, a bittersweet ballad that’s partly inspired by the loss of Perry’s girlfriend, Kellie Nash in 2012.

The live performance clip shows Perry at his most vulnerable and pouring his heart into the track. The video also includes the album’s producer/guitarist Thom Flowers, guitarist Casey Hooper, keyboardist Dallas Kruse, bassist Travis Carlton and drummer Julian Rodriguez.

Co-written by Semisonic’s Dan Wilson, Perry shared his thoughts behind the song in a statement:

“‘No More Cryin’ is a love song, but not in the way you would think”, says Perry. “It starts in one place, and builds and lands somewhere entirely different. It’s got many overtones, and can be applied to so many different kinds of relationships, including my own relationship with past isolation”.

The two musicians were introduced through a manager, and Perry was impressed with Wilson’s songwriting work on The Dixie Chicks’ hit ‘Not Ready To Make Nice’.

“We got together and just started sketching”, Perry tells Rolling Stone. “I wrote this instrumental section and it just kept growing. I kept his acoustic guitar parts and then started building harmonies around the lead vocals parts. It all grows into this sort of Portuguese Philharmonic moment.”

The single also boasts some serious backing talent with studio drummer Vinnie Colaiuta, bassist Devin Hoffman, guitarist Thom Flowers and organist Booker T Jones of pioneering R&B/funk band Booker T & the MG’s.

“I’ve always loved Booker T & the MG’s and I even patterned my early bands after them”, says Perry. “In my home studio, I have a picture of us jamming together on this song. Working with him was such a thrill”.

With the exception of brief appearances with the Eels in 2014 and appearing with his Journey bandmates when they were inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 2017, Perry hasn’t performed or toured in over 20 years.

His return has been heralded by the press and fans, and it’s clear he still has the vocal chops that once dominated the Top 40. Traces is set for release on 5 October, but Perry hasn’t shared any solo tour details yet.

Traces is out on 5 October. Scroll down to read the full tracklist and buy it here.


‘No Erasin’
‘We’re Still Here’
‘Most Of All
‘No More Cryin’
‘In The Rain’
‘Sun Shines Gray’
‘You Belong To Me’
‘Easy To Love’
‘I Need You’
‘We Fly’

Format: Union Jack flagUK English
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

uDiscover Music - Back To Top
uDiscover Music - Back To Top