Airbourne Announce New Album, ‘Boneshaker’ For October Release

The new record was captured in Nashville, with Chris Stapleton, ‘A Star Is Born’ producer Dave Cobb at the helm.

Published on

Photo: Travis Shinn

Airbourne will release their fifth studio album, Boneshaker, on 25 October via Spinefarm Records. The band previously revealed the cover artwork, which was a collaboration between Matt Read of Combustion Ltd, and Sean Tidy of Design House Studio Ltd.

On the topic of the artwork, guitarist Matthew Harrison states: “The whole sentiment we were after was about rock n’ roll for life. We wanted to create something tattoo worthy, and that the artwork was classic and stood the test of time.”

With the creation of Boneshaker, all-action Aussie rockers Airbourne decided to take the bolder path; to align with Nashville’s Number One producer, Dave Cobb, whose credits include both Chris Stapleton and the A Star Is Born soundtrack, as a way of staking out new turf away from comfort zones and safe havens…

“It’s a live gig in the studio. This is always something we wanted to do – find a way to bring the soul and power of an Airbourne live show into an album. Cobb caught our lightning and put it in a bottle.” states bandleader Joel O’Keeffe.

Relocating to historic Studio A on Nashville’s Music Row, six-time Grammy Award-winning producer Cobb’s natural home and one of Music City’s most prized creative hubs, the four musicians set themselves a challenge: to make a record cut from the same frayed cloth as those classic late-’70s recordings from Australia’s legendary Albert’s house of ‘Oz Rock’ that inspired the band so much.  As a taster, you can check the album’s title track out below.

Click to load video

In support of Boneshaker, you can find Airbourne on the road. They will be criss-crossing the planet, in true Airbourne fashion until 2022. Visit the band’s official website for further details of all their forthcoming dates.

“We are pumped about playing these new songs live, it’s always cool to do that first tour on the album cycle, especially that first run of shows. The first time you hear people singing the words back at you to a new song, it makes us really appreciate how much our Airbourne family around the world supports us.” states drummer, Ryan O’Keeffe. “2020 is already shaping up to be a jam packed year.”

Boneshaker Is out on 25 October. Scroll down to read the full tracklist and buy it here.



‘Burnout The Nitro’
‘This Is Our City’
‘Sex To Go’
‘Backseat Boogie’
‘Blood In The Water’
‘She Gives Me Hell’
‘Switchblade Angel’
‘Weapon Of War’
‘Rock ‘N’ Roll For Life’

Format: Union Jack flagUK English
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

uDiscover Music - Back To Top
uDiscover Music - Back To Top