Blues Hall Of Fame Opens After Stellar Awards Night

Published on

Eric Clapton Live Aid
Photo: Paul Natkin/WireImage

The brand new Blues Hall of Fame in Memphis opened for business last Friday (8), after the 36th Blues Music Awards took place the night before, in front of a sellout crowd of 1500. Performers on the night at the Cook Convention Centre event included John Hammond, Charlie Musselwhite, Keb’ Mo’ and Elvin Bishop.

24 award winners were announced, including a triple victory for Bishop, with Tommy Brown, Eric Clapton and Little Richard confirmed as the latest inductees into the Blues Hall of Fame. There were two awards apiece for Hammond and Bobby Rush. Before the awards, a ceremonial ribbon cutting took place for the Hall of Fame, attended by numerous inductees.

The full list of Blues Music Award winners for 2015 is as follows:

1. Acoustic Album: ‘Timeless’ – John Hammond
2. Acoustic Artist: John Hammond
3. Album: ‘Can’t Even Do Wrong Right’ – Elvin Bishop
4. B.B. King Entertainer: Bobby Rush
5. Band: Elvin Bishop Band
6. Best New Artist Album: ‘Don’t Call No Ambulance’ – Selwyn Birchwood
7. Contemporary Blues Album: ‘BluesAmericana’ – Keb’ Mo’
8. Contemporary Blues Female Artist: Janiva Magness
9. Contemporary Blues Male Artist: Gary Clark Jr.
10. Historical: Soul & Swagger: The Complete ‘5’ Royales 1951-1967 – The ‘5’ Royales (Rock Beat)
11. Instrumentalist-Bass: Lisa Mann
12. Instrumentalist-Drums: Jimi Bott
13. Instrumentalist-Guitar: Joe Bonamassa
14. Instrumentalist-Harmonica: Charlie Musselwhite
15. Instrumentalist-Horn: Deanna Bogart
16. Koko Taylor Award: Ruthie Foster
17. Pinetop Perkins Piano Player: Marcia Ball
18. Rock Blues Album: Step Back – Johnny Winter
19. Song: ‘Can’t Even Do Wrong Right’ written and performed by Elvin Bishop
20. Soul Blues Album: ‘Memphis Grease’ – John Németh
21. Soul Blues Female Artist: Sista Monica
22. Soul Blues Male Artist: Bobby Rush
23. Traditional Blues Album: ‘For Pops (A Tribute to Muddy Waters)’ – Mud Morganfield & Kim Wilson
24. Traditional Blues Male Artist: Lurrie Bell

Format: Union Jack flagUK English
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

uDiscover Music - Back To Top
uDiscover Music - Back To Top