Charles Lloyd, Keb Mo’, Philip Bailey Among Nominees For 2020 Jazz FM Awards

Published on

Photo courtesy of Baxter PR

Legendary US saxophonist Charles Lloyd, iconic soul singer and Earth Wind & Fire founding member Philip Bailey, powerhouse jazz vocalist Jazzmeia Horn, genre-bending superstar Anderson .Paak and blues singer-songwriter Keb’ Mo’ are among the nominees for the 2020 Jazz FM Awards.

Four-time Grammy-winning Jacob Collier, Brit Award Rising Star winner Celeste, Mercury-nominated SEED Ensemble and Moses Boyd, Joe Armon-Jones, Yazz Ahmed, Binker Golding, Xhosa Cole and Ashley Henry are amongst the British artists nominated, showcasing the exceptional musical diversity and talent bursting from the UK scene right now.

Once again, the PPL Lifetime Achievement Award, Gold Award and Impact Award recipients will be announced ahead of the ceremony, which is set for 27 May. Music greats such as George Benson, Dame Cleo Laine, Quincy Jones, Gregory Porter, Don Was & Blue Note Records and the late Hugh Masekela have received these special awards in previous years.

A new category, ‘Venue of The Year’ launches at the 2020 Jazz FM Awards with Church of Sound, Love Supreme Festival and Manchester’s Band On The Wall amongst those in contention, which in addition to Album Of The Year and the PRS For Music UK Jazz Act Of The Year will be decided by public vote.

Andrea C. Martin, CEO, PRS for Music, said: “I am delighted that we are once again supporting the Jazz FM Awards, celebrating the brightest stars in the jazz, soul and blues community. The UK Jazz Act of the Year award is always hotly contested and we’re looking forward to seeing who the public vote as the winner. Congratulations to everyone nominated across all the awards, your creativity, innovation and vision continues to inspire us.”

Public voting is open now via the event’s official website and will close on Wednesday, 15 April at 23:59.

The 2020 Jazz FM Awards is made possible with support from PRS for Music, PPL, Mishcon de Reya, Hampstead Jazz Club, Saint Lucia Wellness Festival, Cambridge Audio, Arqiva, Oanda, British Airways, Shoreditch Town Hall, Yamaha UK, Blue Orchid Hotels and Saville Row Gin.

Full list of 2020 nominations:

Sponsored by Cambridge Audio
Rosie Turton
Xhosa Cole
Yelfris Valdés

THE DIGITAL AWARD Sponsored by Oanda:
Jacob Collier
Jazz re:freshed

THE INNOVATION AWARD: Sponsored by Mishcon de Reya:
Jazz re:freshed
Moses Boyd
Sarathy Korwar

INSTRUMENTALIST OF THE YEAR: Sponsored by Hampstead Jazz Club:
Binker Golding
Mark Kavuma
Shirley Tetteh

INTERNATIONAL JAZZ ACT OF THE YEAR: Sponsored by Saint Lucia Wellness Festival:
Branford Marsalis
Charles Lloyd
Kris Davis

SOUL ACT OF THE YEAR: Sponsored by British Airways:
Anderson .Paak
Philip Bailey

BLUES ACT OF THE YEARL Sponsored by Blue Orchid Hotels:
Keb’ Mo’
Gary Clark Jr.
Jon Cleary

Alice Zawadzki
Georgia Cécile
Judi Jackson

Joe Armon-Jones
SEED Ensemble
Yazz Ahmed

ALBUM OF THE YEAR: Sponsored by Arqiva:
Ashley Henry – Beautiful Vinyl Hunter
Binker Golding – Abstractions of Reality Past and Incredible Feathers
Branford Marsalis Quartet – The Secret Between the Shadow and the Soul
Jazzmeia Horn – Love and Liberation
SEED Ensemble – Drift Glass
Yazz Ahmed – Polyhymnia

Band on the Wall, Manchester
Church of Sound
Love Supreme Festival
Ronnie Scott’s Jazz Club
The Verdict, Brighton
Vortex, Dalston.

Listen to the Best of Charles Lloyd on Apple Music and Spotify.

Format: Union Jack flagUK English
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

uDiscover Music - Back To Top
uDiscover Music - Back To Top