Ben Platt Reprises His Role On New ‘Dear Evan Hansen: (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack)’

The soundtrack will be released on September 24.

Published on

Ben Platt Dear Evan Hansen Film Soundtrack
Photo: Kevin Mazur/Getty Images for Atlantic Records)

On September 24, Interscope Records will release Dear Evan Hansen: (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack). The 16-track album features new recordings by the film cast of beloved songs from the Tony-winning Broadway phenomenon with music and lyrics by the Oscar, Grammy, and Tony winning songwriting team of Benj Pasek and Justin Paul (La La Land, The Greatest Showman). Universal Pictures’ Dear Evan Hansen opens in theaters nationwide on September 24.

To herald the album’s arrival, Universal Pictures and Interscope Records today released new renditions of the film’s iconic anthems “Waving Through A Window” and “You Will Be Found” performed by Tony, Grammy, and Emmy winner Ben Platt, who originated the role of Evan Hansen on Broadway and reprises the role for the film.

Click to load video

The soundtrack also features two new songs written for the film by Benj Pasek and Justin Paul: “A Little Closer” performed by Colton Ryan and “The Anonymous Ones” performed by Amandla Stenberg, who co-wrote the lyrics and music with Pasek and Paul.

About the album, Ben Platt commented, “It was so special to revisit these meaningful songs that have been such a big part of my life over the past several years, and I’m beyond excited for everyone to hear this amazing cast’s take on the material, especially the two new fantastic additions! Fans of the beautiful Original Broadway Cast Album are going to love listening to all the faves on this soundtrack.”

Click to load video

Dear Evan Hansen opened on Broadway in December 2016 and became a generation-defining phenomenon, winning six Tony Awards, including for Best Musical and for Ben Platt as Best Actor in a Leading Role in a Musical. The show’s cast album would go on to earn a Grammy.

Now, in the film, Ben Platt returns as Evan Hansen, an anxious, isolated high schooler aching for understanding and belonging amid the chaos and cruelty of the social-media age.

Pre-order Dear Evan Hansen: (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack)

Dear Evan Hansen: (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack)
Waving Through A Window – Ben Platt & Dear Evan Hansen Choir
For Forever – Ben Platt
Sincerely Me – Colton Ryan, Ben Platt & Nik Dodani
Requiem – Kaitlyn Dever, Danny Pino & Amy Adams
If I Could Tell Her – Ben Platt & Kaitlyn Dever
The Anonymous Ones – Amandla Stenberg
You Will Be Found – Ben Platt, Amandla Stenberg, Liz Kate, DeMarius Copes, Isaac Powell, Hadiya Eshe, Kaitlyn Dever & Dear Evan Hansen Choir
Only Us – Kaitlyn Dever & Ben Platt
Words Fail – Ben Platt
So Big/So Small – Julianne Moore
A Little Closer – Colton Ryan
You Will Be Found
The Anonymous Ones
Only Us
A Little Closer
Waving Through A Window

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

uDiscover Music - Back To Top
uDiscover Music - Back To Top