Friendly Fires Announce First Album In Eight Years, Share New Single

UK indie trio Friendly Fires have returned with a new single ‘Silhouettes’ and news of their first new album in eight years, Inflorescent, due out on 16 August.

Published on

Friendly Fires Inflorescent Album

UK indie trio Friendly Fires have returned with a new single ‘Silhouettes’ and news of their first new album in eight years, Inflorescent, due out on 16 August.

Alongside producers Mark Ralph, James Ford and Disclosure, Friendly Fires spent the last eighteen months working on their long-waited third album. While working on their follow-up record to 2011’s Pala, the band released a string of anthemic singles including ‘Love Like Waves’, ‘Heaven Let Me In’ and a cover of Charles B & Adonis’ ‘Lack Of Love’, that will all appear on Inflorescent.

Friendly Fires - Silhouettes (Visualiser)

Click to load video

Inflorescent marks the end of eight-year hiatus (minus a few recent live dates) and sees childhood friends and bandmates Ed Macfarlane, Edd Gibson and Jack Savidge return to the studio and stage, rejuvenated and reborn.

The rock trio returned to Macfarlane’s parents’ St Albans garage where they recorded some of their earliest songs and reconnected “with the hardcore records they’d bonded over as teenagers,” as inspiration for the new album.

The band debuted their new single ‘Silhouettes’ on Radio 1’s Future Sounds with Annie Mac, that’s a clear nod towards the Brazilian disco records the band have always loved.

Featuring co-production from Ford and Mark Ralph, ‘Silhouettes’ has a kind of jubilant and driving energy that embodies the band’s signature sound.

Along with revealing the album artwork and tracklisting, the band is also prepping for their Glastonbury appearance this Sunday, 30 June on the John Peen Stage.

Friendly Fires will be playing a number of UK dates this summer as well as Australia and then the US starting in September. This is also the first time the group is playing the US in eight years, with tickets going on sale Friday, 28 June.

View the tracklisting for Inflorescent below and pre-order the album here.


Inflorescent Track List:

1. Can’t Wait Forever
2. Heaven Let Me In
3. Silhouettes
4. Offline
5. Sleeptalking
6. Kiss And Rewind
7. Love Like Waves
8. Lack Of Love
9. Cry Wolf
10. Almost Midnight
11. Run The Wild Flowers

Friendly Fires Live 2019

Sun 30 June Glastonbury Festival, UK
Sun 14 July Citadel Festival, London, UK
Sat 20 July Splendour In The Grass, Yelgun, Australia
Sun 21 July 170 Russell, Melbourne, Australia
Mon 22 July Metro Theatre, Sydney, Australia
Fri 26 July Leopallooza, Bude, UK
Sat 27 July Standon Calling, Standon, UK
Sat 14 Sep Nova Batida, Lisbon, Portugal
Tue 24 Sep Elsewhere, Brooklyn, New York, US
Thu 26 Sep Fillmore Theatre, San Francisco, US
Fri 27 Sep Fonda Theatre, Los Angeles, US
Sat 28 Sep CRSSD Music & Arts Festival, San Diego, US

Format: Union Jack flagUK English
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

uDiscover Music - Back To Top
uDiscover Music - Back To Top