Gord Downie’s ‘Coke Machine Glow’ To Receive Expanded Release

The album was recorded in between albums from The Tragically Hip.

Published on

Gord Downie Coke Machine
Photo: Frazer Harrison/Getty Images

To mark the 20th anniversary of Gord Downie’s Coke Machine Glow, Arts & Crafts has announced a special expanded reissue that posthumously revisits the songs and poetry of this prolific period of Downie’s career.

Gord Downie’s Coke Machine Glow was released in 2001, in between Music @ Work (2000) and In Violet Light (2002), the ninth and tenth albums by his mighty band of brothers in The Tragically Hip.

Gord Downie - I Stand Before The Songwriters’ Cabal (Music Edit) - Spoken Word by Rob Baker

Click to load video

The first solo project by a world renowned wordsmith, Coke Machine Glow’s sixteen songs were released with an accompanying book of poetry, collectively emanating Downie’s heartrending stories, in his signature quirk and complex, approachable wit.

Entitled Coke Machine Glow: Songwriters’ Cabal, the triple-album features the original two-disc set plus a bonus record of twelve unreleased demos, alternate versions, and never-before-heard outtakes – carefully curated by Gord’s “oldest Toronto friend” Josh Finlayson and brother Patrick Downie with Arts & Crafts’ Jonathan Shedletzky. Tracks include the ominous “I Stand Before The Songwriters’ Cabal” and two opposing versions of the mysterious “Contact.”

The 28-song collection include elegant alternate studio takes of classics like “Vancouver Divorce” and “Lofty Pines” express the fluidity of the family band that comprised the Gas Station recording sessions in Toronto, that May of 2000. Produced by Downie, Josh Finlayson, and Steven Drake, featuring Dale Morningstar, Julie Doiron, Kevin Hearn, Atom Egoyan, Dave Clark, Don Kerr, and more, Coke Machine Glow: Songwriters’ Cabal is a document of Gord at the precipice of his illustrious solo career.

Pre-order Coke Machine Glow: Songwriters’ Cabal.

Coke Machine Glow: Songwriters’ Cabal Tracklist:

Coke Machine Glow:

1. Starpainters

2. Vancouver Divorce

3. SF Song

4. Trick Rider

5. Canada Geese

6. Chancellor

7. The Never-Ending Present

8. Nothing But Heartache in Your Social Life

9. Blackflies

10. Lofty Pines

11. Boy Bruised By Butterfly Chase

12. Mystery

13. Elaborate

14. Yer Possessed

15. Every Irrelevance

16. Insomniacs of the World, Good Night

Songwriters’ Cabal:

1. Vancouver Divorce – Alternate Take

2. Trick Rider – Demo

3. SF Song – Demo

4. Contact – Demo

5. Down Down Down – Demo

6. Putting Down – Demo

7. Chancellor – Demo

8. The Never-Ending Present – Demo

9. I Stand Before the Songwriters’ Cabal – Outtake

10. Contact – Outtake

11. Mystery – Alternate Take

12. Lofty Pines – Alternate Take

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

uDiscover Music - Back To Top
uDiscover Music - Back To Top