Grammy-Winning Bassist Marcus Miller Returns With ‘Laid Black’

Set features collaborations with Trombone Shorty, Take 6 and more.

Published on

Renowned bassist and multi-instrumentalist Marcus Miller marks his return to funk music with the release today (1 June) of the new album Laid Black, on Blue Note. It features collaborations with Trombone Shorty, Selah Sue, Peculiar 3 and Take 6, Kirk Whalum & Alex Han. It includes ‘7-Ts,’ the collaboration with Trombone Shorty that was the upfront “instant grat” track.

Miller first came to attention as an in-demand session player, and his own distinguished catalogue as a bandleader began in 1983 with the Suddenly album. At the age of just 25, he co-produced Miles Davis’ famed Tutu LP of 1986 with Tommy LiPuma, also writing several tracks for it.

Miller has gone on to work with such massive names as Eric Clapton, George Benson, Luther Vandross, Roberta Flack, Aretha Franklin, Chaka Khan, Jay-Z, Wayne Shorter, Al Jarreau, Stanley Clarke, George Duke, Bryan Ferry and Herbie Hancock. His 1991 co-write ‘Power Of Love/Love Power’ topped the US R&B chart for Luther Vandross, and won a Grammy, one of Miller’s two, for Best R&B Song.

A UNESCO Artist for Peace and two-time Grammy winner, Miller received a Grammy nomination for his 2015 album Afrodeezia, in the Best Contemporary Instrumental Album category. That set featured guest appearances from such notables as Chuck D, Lalah Hathaway, Robert Glasper, Keb’ Mo’ and Wah Wah Watson.

He has his own radio show, Miller Time, which airs every Sunday night on SiriusXM’s RealJazz, in which he features his own influences alongside key recordings in jazz history. Miller is currently on a European tour, with dates extending to the end of July.

Scroll down to read the full tracklisting, and buy Laid Black here.


The full Laid Black tracklisting is:

1. Trip Trap
2. Que Sera Sera (featuring Selah Sue)
3. 7-T’s (featuring Trombone Shorty)
4. Sublimity (Bunny’s Dream)
5. Untamed (featuring Peculiar 3)
6. No Limit
7. Someone to Love
8. Keep ‘Em Runnin
9. Preacher’s Kid (featuring Take 6, Kirk Whalum & Alex Han)

Format: Union Jack flagUK English
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

uDiscover Music - Back To Top
uDiscover Music - Back To Top