Halsey To Receive Award At Songwriters Hall of Fame Induction

The 24-year-old chart-topper Halsey will receive the Hal David Starlight Award at the 50th Annual Songwriters Hall of Fame Induction on 13 June.

Published on

Halsey 929 New Album Manic
Photo: Aidan Cullen, courtesy of Capitol Records

The 24-year-old chart-topper Halsey will receive the prestigious Hal David Starlight Award at the 50th Annual Songwriters Hall of Fame Induction and Awards Dinner on 13 June.

The award recognizes “gifted young songwriters who are making a significant impact in the music industry via their original songs,” and was named in honour of the famed Burt Bacharach collaborator and Songwriters Hall Of Fame Chairman (SHOF) Hal David for his support of young songwriters.

The awards will be held on Thursday, 13 June at the Marriott Marquis Hotel in New York City and Halsey joins the prestigious ranks of past Starlight winners that include Ed Sheeran, Imagine Dragons’ Dan Reynolds, Taylor Swift, John Legend, Alicia Keys, Drake and John Mayer, among others.

Current chair of the Hall, Nile Rodgers shared his enthusiasm for Halsey’s recognition, saying, “I’ve watched Halsey grow over the last five years and every record seems to be better than the last one, so I’m delighted that she’s being recognized in this much-deserved way”.

President & CEO Linda Moran added, “Halsey bares her soul with heart-wrenching, rebellious and complex lyrics that come from a place of creativity and strength where not many songwriters are comfortable going. She is more than worthy to join the roster of the young songwriters who have received the coveted Hal David Starlight Award”.

The gifted singer-songwriter is part of the new generation of female pop prodigies who have found success outside of traditional models. After her song ‘Ghost’ went viral on Soundcloud in 2014, the pop star signed to Capitol’s Astralwerks label and notched a No. 1 album with 2017’s Hopeless Fountain Kingdom and recently her first solo No. 1 single, ‘Without Me’.

Halsey also featured on some of the biggest tracks of the past few years including the double-platinum ‘Eastside’ by Benny Blanco, featuring Khalid, G-Eazy’s ‘Him & I’ and most famously, the Chainsmokers’ 2016 global smash ‘Closer’.

Other inductees at this year’s event include Dallas Austin, Missy Elliott, Tom T. Hall, John Prine, Jack Tempchin and Yusuf / Cat Stevens, while Carole Bayer Sager will be receiving the Johnny Mercer Award and music publisher Martin Bandier is the Visionary Leadership Award recipient.

Visit the official site for details on the induction.

Format: Union Jack flagUK English
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

uDiscover Music - Back To Top
uDiscover Music - Back To Top