Joy Oladokun Releases Deluxe Album, ‘In Defense Of My Own Happiness (Complete)’

The deluxe edition features a brand new song, ‘judas.’

Published on

Joy Oladokun credit Nolan Wright
Photo: Nolan Wright

Joy Oladokun’s new deluxe album, in defense of my own happiness (complete), is out today via Amigo Records/Verve Forecast/Republic Records.

The special extended edition includes all 14 tracks from her major label debut, in defense of my own happiness, as well as the ten additional songs from her self-released 2020 record, in defense of my own happiness (the beginnings), and one new track, “judas.”

Joy Oladokun - judas (live performance)

Click to load video

In celebration of the new music, Oladokun will be featured on NPR’s “All Things Considered” this afternoon (Friday July 9) speaking with host Ari Shapiro, and recently made her debut on The Late Show with Stephen Colbert performing “sunday” from Nashville’s newly opened National Museum of African American Music.

Released last month via Amigo Records/Verve Forecast/Republic Records, in defense of my own happiness finds Oladokun forging her own path, sharing the unique perspective she’s gained from living in today’s world as a Black, queer woman and first-generation child of Nigerian immigrants. Born in Arizona and now living in Nashville, her musical exploration began at age ten when she was inspired to learn guitar after seeing a video of Tracy Chapman—the first time she’d ever seen a black woman play the instrument.

Recently named one of the “Best Albums of 2021 So Far” by Rolling Stone and Variety, and one of Billboard’s “Best Albums by LGBTQ Artists of 2021 So Far,” in defense of my own happiness features special collaborations with Maren Morris (“Bigger Man”), Jensen McRae (“wish you the best”), and Penny & Sparrow (“heaven from here”).

Buy or stream in defense of my own happiness (complete).

in defense of my own happiness (complete) Tracklist:

1. jordan
2. smoke
3. if you got a problem
4. i see america
5. heaven from here (feat. Penny & Sparrow)
6. younger days
7. sunday
8. bad blood
9. lost
10. who do i turn to?
11. sorry isn’t good enough
12. taking the heat
13. someone that i used to be
14. brick by brick
15. unwelcoming
16. Bigger Man (feat. Maren Morris)
17. mercy (feat. Tim Gent)
18. let it be me
19. judas
20. mighty die young
21. breathe again
22. too high
23. look up
24. wish you the best (feat. Jensen McRae)

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

uDiscover Music - Back To Top
uDiscover Music - Back To Top