KT Tunstall’s ‘Hymn To Her’ Previews ‘Good Night Songs For Rebel Girls’

The Decca release, in partnership with global edutainment brand Rebel Girls, also features Joan Jett, Ani Di Franco and many others.

Published on

KT Tunstall GettyImages 1164589404

KT Tunstall’s new interpretation of the Pretenders’ 1986 UK Top 10 hit “Hymn To Her” is the lead single from Decca Records’ upcoming multi-artist album Good Night Songs For Rebel Girls. The record will celebrate extraordinary women in music and has been created in partnership with the global edutainment brand Rebel Girls. The album is released on November 27.

Tunstall’s “Hymn To Her” is an impassioned and distinctive reworking of a song closely associated with one of her great inspirations, Chrissie Hynde, and written by Hynde’s high school friend Meg Keene. The original, from the Pretenders’ Get Close album, reached No.8 in the UK. Tunstall toured extensively with the group, and with countrymen Simple Minds, in 2018.

Click to load video

Rebel Girls’ mission is to inspire and instil confidence in a generation of girls around the world, and Good Night Songs For Rebel Girls takes its cue from the girl-driven narrative of the New York Times-bestselling book series of the same name. The series has been translated into close to 50 languages and is available in over 85 countries around the world.

Featured artists on the album include Joan Jett, who has recorded a new version of her song “Fresh Start”; Ani Di Franco, who sings another Pretenders standard, “Brass In Pocket”; and Anastacia, who reworks Kelly Clarkson’s “Stronger.” Other contributing artists include Imelda May, Anoushka Shankar, Skye Edwards, and Beth Orton.

Jett performed “Fresh Start” on October 11, International Day of the Girl, during Rebel Girls’ free, virtual Rebel Girls United Rally. The day included activities, singalongs, and other interactive events presented by female thought leaders, changemakers, and doers.

Good Night Songs For Rebel Girls is released on November 27. Pre-order it here.

The full Good Night Songs For Rebel Girls tracklist is:

1. “Beloved” – Imelda May
2. “Beautiful” – Macy Grey
3. “Girl on Fire” – Lubiana
4. “The Only Way Is Up” – Skye
5. “Thank U” – Aurora
6. “Stronger” – Anastacia
7. “Fresh Start” – Joan Jett
8. “Brass in Pocket” – Ani DiFranco
9. “Don’t Let Me Be Misunderstood” – Tank and the Bangas
10. “Hymn to Her” – KT Tunstall
11. “Goodbye Yellow Brick Road” – Amy Wadge
12. “Issues” – Marie White
13. “For Today I Am A Boy” – Beth Orton
14. “You’ve Got A Friend” – Jess Gillam
15. “Joga” – Anoushka Shankar
Bonus tracks:
17. “Beautiful” – Somin of KARD
18. “Va Tu Sei Libero (You Don’t Own Me)” – Elodie
19. “The Park” – Pomme

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

uDiscover Music - Back To Top
uDiscover Music - Back To Top