Lana Del Rey Announces ‘Blue Banisters,’ Drops New Single ‘Arcadia’

‘Blue Banisters’ is out October 22 with vinyl coming October 29.

Published on

Lana Del Rey - Photo: Courtesy of Interscope Records
Lana Del Rey - Photo: Courtesy of Interscope Records

Lana Del Rey has announced her highly anticipated eighth studio record Blue Banisters, following the success of her previous album Chemtrails Over The Country Club, which was released earlier this year.

Due for release on October 22, with vinyl to follow on October 29, the pre-order for Blue Banisters is available now on participating partners as well as at

Click to load video

Blue Banisters will include previously released songs “Wildflower Wildfire,” “Blue Banisters,” and “Text Book.” Alongside the announcement of the pre-order, Lana released the new track “Arcadia,” which she wrote and produced with Drew Erickson. The new track is accompanied by a visual directed by Lana.

Blue Banisters was originally slated for a July 4 release date, but by the time the holiday rolled around, Lana confirmed that the release date was “TBD.” We now know that the date is October 22.

The singer also shared some of the inspiration behind the new album on her socials yesterday, writing: “I guess you could say this album is about what it was like, what happened, and what it’s like now. If you’re interested go back and listen to the first three songs I put out earlier. They chronicle the beginning. This song hits somewhere in the middle and by the time the record drops you will hear where we’re at today.”

Also in the pipeline from Del Rey is a covers album full of country songs, which she said she has two titles currently in mind for. In March, the singer said: “I went back and listened to ‘Ride’ and ‘Video Games’ and thought, you know they’re kind of country. I mean, they’re definitely not pop.”

She continued: “Maybe the way ‘Video Games’ got remastered, they’re pop – but there’s something Americana about it for sure. So let’s see how these things come out – I’m not going to have pedal steel guitar on every single thing, but it is easy for me to write.”

Also in April, it was reported that Chemtrails Over The Country Club was among the best-selling vinyl albums of 2021 in the UK to date. The record had sold more than 17,300 copies on wax, with 16,700 of those bought in its first week. This makes Del Rey the female act with the fastest-selling vinyl album of the century in the UK.

Pre-order Blue Banisters.

Blue Banisters Tracklist:
1. Textbook
2. Blue Banisters
3. Arcadia
4. Interlude – The Trio
5. Black Bathing Suit
6. If You Lie Down With Me
7. Beautiful
8. Violets for Roses
9. Dealer
10. Thunder
11. Wildflower Wildfire
12. Nectar of the Gods
13. Living Legend
14. Cherry Blossom
15. Sweet Carolina

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

uDiscover Music - Back To Top
uDiscover Music - Back To Top