Soundtrack For Paul Thomas Anderson’s ‘Licorice Pizza’ Has Been Announced

The soundtrack will also be available on vinyl via a limited edition first pressing on December 10 with a special red vinyl available only at indie record stores.

Published on

Licorice Pizza Soundtrack - Photo: Republic Records
Licorice Pizza Soundtrack - Photo: Republic Records

Republic Records has announced the release of the Licorice Pizza Original Motion Picture Soundtrack on November 26.

The album accompanies this year’s highly anticipated new film from eight-time Academy Award-nominated writer and director Paul Thomas Anderson. United Artists Releasing is opening the film in select New York and Los Angeles Theaters on Friday, November 26, 2021 and across the country on Christmas Day December 25, 2021.

The soundtrack will also be available on vinyl via a limited edition first pressing on December 10 with a special red vinyl available only at indie record stores.

From MGM and Focus Features in association with BRON Creative, Licorice Pizza tells the story of Alana Kane (Alana Haim) and Gary Valentine (Cooper Hoffman) growing up, running around, and falling in love in the San Fernando Valley, 1973. Written and Directed by Paul Thomas Anderson, the film tracks the treacherous navigation of first love. The film also stars Sean Penn, Tom Waits, Bradley Cooper, and Benny Safdie.

LICORICE PIZZA | Official Trailer | MGM Studios

Click to load video

Licorice Pizza marks Paul Thomas Anderson’s ninth film and first since Phantom Thread in 2017.

Alana Haim has attracted widespread acclaim for her role in Paul Thomas Anderson’s new film Licorice Pizza.

The upcoming film, which stars Haim in her debut performance, is a coming-of-age drama set in the 1970s in Los Angeles’ San Fernando Valley, focusing on Haim’s character Alana Kane and Gary Valentine (Cooper Hoffman).

Going by those who have attended an early screening, Licorice Pizza may be another hit for Anderson, some calling it a “masterpiece” and “brilliant”.

JJ Abrams praised Haim and Hoffman, saying: “Truly incredible debut performances. There’s little better than going to a PTA movie. Be sure to see #LicoricePizza November 26!”

Actor John C. Reilly also had huge praise for Haim, saying in a chat with the singer and actress for Interview Magazine: “When Paul sent me that first screen test, I was like, ‘Dude, if you can keep them feeling this free, I think you’ve got a movie.’

“You know the phrase, ‘You can’t take your eyes off her?’ I’ve experienced that feeling before, watching a fireplace or a baby, but rarely with adults. When I visited the set, I remember sitting there and being glued to the monitor, even between takes. I turned to Paul, and I was like, ‘You can’t take your f_king eyes off her.’ He looked at me like, ‘Right?’

“The only other actor who makes me feel that way is Joaquin Phoenix. Watching him is like watching a raccoon rummage through garbage cans. What is he gonna do now? Why look at anything else, while this is going on? It’s hard to keep that energy on camera, Alana. Take it from an old clown like me. How many times would you say you’ve fallen in love?”

Pre-order the Licorice Pizza Original Soundtrack here. View the full tracklisting below.

Licorice Pizza (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack):

1 Nina Simone: “July Tree”
2 Chris Norman / Suzi Quatro: “Stumblin’ In”
3 Johnny Guarnieri: “Sometimes I’m Happy”
4 Bing Crosby / The Andrews Sisters: “Ac-Cent-Tchu-Ate the Positive (Single Version)” [ft. Vic Schoen and His Orchestra]
5 Chico Hamilton Quintet: “Blue Sands” [ft. Buddy Collette]
6 Sonny & Cher: “But You’re Mine”
7 Chuck Berry: “My Ding-a-Ling (Live at Fillmore Auditorium, San Francisco, CA/1967)” [ft. Steve Miller Band]
8 The Doors: “Peace Frog”
9 Paul McCartney / Wings: “Let Me Roll It”
10 David Bowie: “Life on Mars?”
11 Clarence Carter: “Slip Away”
12 Seals & Crofts: “Diamond Girl”
13 Mason Williams: “Greensleeves”
14 Donovan: “Barabajagal”
15 Congregation: “Softly Whispering I Love You”
16 Jonny Greenwood: “Licorice Pizza”
17 Gordon Lightfoot: “If You Could Read My Mind”
18 James Gang: “Walk Away”
19 Blood, Sweat & Tears: “Lisa, Listen to Me”
20 Taj Mahal: “Tomorrow May Not Be Your Day”

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

uDiscover Music - Back To Top
uDiscover Music - Back To Top