Watch The Video For Matt Berninger’s New Single, ‘One More Second’

The new track is the third preview of Berninger’s new solo record, ‘Serpentine Prison’, due out on October 16.

Published on

Photo: Chantal Anderson

The National’s frontman Matt Berninger has shared the official, Chris Sgroi directed video for his latest solo single “One More Second.”

Berninger introduced the video with a livestream, where he hosted a “cocktail hour” — dubbed Cocktail Seconds with Matt Berninger — along with his special guests, Chris Sgroi and Tom Berninger, who discuss the making of the video. The clip itself combines footage of Berninger singing from behind a classic microphone with shots of him busting moves against a backdrop of colorful projections. At the end of the clip, we see masked crew members enter the static set. You can check it out below.

Matt Berninger - One More Second (Official Video)

Click to load video

“One More Second” is the third single from Berninger’s highly anticipated debut solo record, Serpentine Prison, due out on October 16.

Berninger explains, “I wrote “One More Second” with Matt Sheehy (Lost Lander, EL VY) with the intention for it to be a kind of answer to Dolly Parton’s “I Will Always Love You,” or sort of the other side of that conversation. I just wanted to write one of those classic, simple, desperate love songs that sound great in your car.”

Of “One More Second,” Rolling Stone wrote, “The song starts out as a minimal and meditative acoustic tune, but soon expands with shuffling drums, rich organ, blooming backing vocals and even a tasteful—and slightly off-kilter—piano solo.”

The forthcoming record, produced by famed Memphis multi-instrumentalist Booker T. Jones, will be released via Book Records, a new imprint formed by Berninger and Jones in conjunction with Concord Records.

Of the forthcoming record’s origins, Berninger explains, “I sent [friend and collaborator Booker T. Jones] a few rough demos of originals that I had started working on with some old friends, including the songs “Serpentine Prison” and “Distant Axis.” Booker responded to those demos right away and encouraged me to keep writing and digging deeper into that stuff. Six months later we had twelve originals and seven covers. Everyone I had been working with on these songs came to Venice, CA, and we recorded it all in 14 days.”

The album features contributions from a wide array of notable artists, including Matt Barrick (The Walkmen, Jonathan Fire*Eater), Andrew Bird, Mike Brewer, Hayden Desser, Scott Devendorf (The National, LNZNDRF), Gail Ann Dorsey (David Bowie, Lenny Kravitz), Booker T. Jones, Teddy Jones, Brent Knopf (EL VY, Menomena), Ben Lanz (The National, Beirut, LNZNDRF), Walter Martin (The Walkmen, Jonathan Fire*Eater), Sean O’Brien, Mickey Raphael (Willie Nelson, Bob Dylan), Kyle Resnick (The National, Beirut), Matt Sheehy (EL VY, Lost Lander) and Harrison Whitford (Phoebe Bridgers). Additional production on the album was provided by Sean O’Brien.

Serpentine Prison is out on October 16 and can be pre-ordered here.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

uDiscover Music - Back To Top
uDiscover Music - Back To Top