Razorlight’s Classic Line-Up Reunite; Announce Livestream Show

Featuring Johnny Borrell, Andy Burrows, Carl Dalemo and Björn Ågren, this iteration of the band recorded their self-titled album from 2006 and follow-up, ‘Slipway Fires.’

Published on

Photo: Gareth Cattermole/Getty Images for AOL

Razorlight‘s classic line-up have reunited after 10 years apart. Johnny Borrell, Björn Ågren and Carl Dalemo first formed the band in 2002, with Andy Burrows joining in 2004. The band’s original drummer, Christian Smith-Pancorvo, played on Razorlight’s 2004 debut Up All Night, with Burrows joining in the wake of its release. The classic Razorlight quartet recorded 2006’s self-titled follow-up and 2008’s Slipway Fires.

To celebrate the reunion, the band are set to play a livestreamed show in June, which promises the band performing “their most iconic releases.”

Announcing the reunion on Twitter, the band wrote: “After a 10-year hiatus, Johnny, Carl, Björn and Andy are back together in Razorlight. To celebrate we are hosting a one off streamed concert broadcast worldwide on the 2nd June.”

Speaking about the reunion, Burrows said: “It feels incredible. We’ve spent the past week or two rehearsing. Playing these songs has been an absolute joy. The emotions that were going through me when we started playing “America”, I forgot to play the first half of the song – it was totally nuts. It’s been amazing. It’s so powerful playing these old tunes. It’s very very special.”

Borrell added: “I’m really enjoying reconnecting with Andy and Carl, it’s like getting to know people again. I’m enjoying it because you never want to lose friends. It’s a horrible thing to think. It doesn’t really make sense. It definitely feels good to me on a personal level.

“On a creative level – amazing. We’ve been in the studio rehearsing and recording. As soon as the four of us are in the room, it just sounds amazing, straight away.”

Ahead of the full reunion, guitarist Ågren rejoined Razorlight last year alongside Borrell, while the band’s last full-length album came in the form of 2018’s ‘Olympus Sleeping’.

Reviewing that album upon its release, NME wrote: “Razorlight are not here to save rock – they never were, and they’re more than aware of it. They’re not reinventing the wheel, but pulling the Harley out of the ditch.”

Click to comment
Comments are temporarily disabled and will return shortly.
John Lennon - Mind Games The Ultimate Collection
John Lennon
Mind Games (The Ultimate Collection)
Frank Zappa - Apostrophe 50th Anniversary Edition
Frank Zappa
Apostrophe (50th Anniversary Edition)
Johnny Cash - Songwriter LP
Johnny Cash
Songwriter LP
Beastie Boys - Ill Communication Deluxe Edition 3LP
Beastie Boys
Ill Communication Deluxe Edition 3LP
Nina Simone - Nina Simone In Concert LP
Nina Simone
Nina Simone In Concert (LP)
Nelly Furtado - Whoa, Nelly! 2LP
Nelly Furtado
Whoa, Nelly! 2LP
uDiscover Music - Back To Top
uDiscover Music - Back To Top