Former Journey Frontman Steve Perry Announces Holiday Record ‘The Season’

‘I hope when people hear this record, they’re teleported in the same way I was when I recorded all these songs,’ says Perry.

Published on

Steve Perry - Photo: Myriam Santos
Steve Perry - Photo: Myriam Santos

Former Journey frontman Steve Perry is preparing a holiday record titled The Season, which is set to be released on November 5.

“I hope when people hear this record, they’re teleported in the same way I was when I recorded all these songs,” he says in a statement. “I hope it brings them back to those golden moments with their loved ones and gives them that feeling of joy and connection and comfort that we all need so much.” The album’s first single, “I’ll Be Home For Christmas,” is out now.

Steve Perry - I'll Be Home For Christmas (Visualizer)

Click to load video

Perry said that recording the album was an emotional and cathartic experience. “When I was recording vocals for ‘I’ll Be Home for Christmas’, as I was singing ‘Please have snow and mistletoe and presents under the tree’ … I was emotionally thrown into standing in my grandmother’s house staring through the door that I always hung [with] mistletoe,” he said in a statement, “and then I saw her beautiful Christmas tree in front of her living room window. I had to stop singing because it felt like I was really there. I was a bit stunned. Back home for Christmas is where everyone wants to be!”

Perry took an extended from the music industry after leaving Journey in 1998, but he reemerged in 2018 with the solo LP Traces. He followed it up last year with Traces (Alternate Versions and Sketches), a stripped-down version of the album.

Though Perry has been back for a few years, he has yet to return to touring. “I’ve got some physical injuries from touring,” he continued. “It’s a tough thing, touring. People don’t realize. It’s like sports. I’m watching baseball these days and there’s injuries. People’s backs and necks start to go out. It’s a young man’s game, but I do miss it.”

Pre-order The Season.

The Season Tracklist:
1. “The Christmas Song”
2. “I’ll Be Home for Christmas”
3. “Auld Lang Syne”
4. “Winter Wonderland”
5. “What Are You Doing New Year’s Eve”
6. “Santa Claus Is Coming to Town”
7. “Silver Bells”
8. “Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas”

1 Comment

1 Comment

  1. Beckey Gooden

    September 13, 2021 at 3:52 pm

    Steve is ALWAYS thinking of his fans and trying to teleport us all with his smooth voice and gorgeous lyrics. He’s always writing things that become the soundtrack of our lives. He’s done this since day 1 with Journey. He followed up with Traces 20 years later as we all look back to days of our youth. Now; he lovingly brings us back to simpler Christmas days: where just being home with family was truly all we needed for Christmas! Thank you Steve. We adore you so much for always trying to give your fans what we need in our lives!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

uDiscover Music - Back To Top
uDiscover Music - Back To Top