Tame Impala, 5 Seconds Of Summer Among Nominees For 2020 ARIA Awards

Lewis Capaldi, Taylor Swift and The Weeknd are also in contention for the ‘Best International Artist’ ARIA.

Published on

Photo: Matt Winkelmeyer/Getty Images

Tame Impala and 5 Seconds Of Summer are among the big names nominated for trophies at Australia’s 2020 ARIA Awards.

Lime Cordiale, comprising brothers Oli and Louis Leimbach, saw their sophomore album 14 Steps to a Better You debut at No. 1 on the ARIA Albums Chart earlier this year and the the indie-rock outfit will look to add ARIAs silverware with nods for album of the year, best group and more.

Kevin Parker’s Tame Impala also snagged top spot on the Australian national chart this year with The Slow Rush (Modular Recordings / Island Records Australia/Universal Music Australia), his psychedelic-pop outfit’s fourth LP. It’s the highest-selling homegrown album in 2020 so far, and its up seven ARIAs, including album of the year.

Winners at the 2020 ARIA Awards will be announced November 25 during a ceremony at The Star, Sydney to be broadcast around Australia on the Nine Network, and around the globe on YouTube.

Click to load video

“It’s been a year we will never forget. Our industry has taken a hit, but the creativity of our local artists has not,” comments Dan Rosen, outgoing CEO of ARIA.

“Our artists have shown great resilience and their music has helped many Australians get through these tough times. I congratulate each of the 2020 ARIA Awards Nominees, who make up a remarkable list of Australian artists who have made a difference this year. I also want to congratulate all the Fine Arts and Artisan and nominees. The music industry is a team effort, and their role is vital in making our music industry robust.”

Nominations were announced Tuesday morning at the Season Launch.

The 2020 ARIA Awards Nominations:

Album Of The Year
Jessica Mauboy – Hilda
Lime Cordiale – 14 Steps To A Better You
Sampa The Great – The Return
Tame Impala – The Slow Rush

Best Male Artist
Archie Roach – Tell Me Why
Guy Sebastian – Standing With You
Ruel – Free Time 
The Kid LAROI – F_k Love
Troye Sivan – In A Dream 

Best Female Artist
Amy Shark – Everybody Rise 
Miiesha – Nyaaringu 
Sampa The Great – The Return 
Sia – Together 
Tones And I – Bad Child / Can’t Be Happy All the Time

Best Dance Release
Alice Ivy – Don’t Sleep Dom Dolla – “San Frandisco”
Flume – “Rushing Back” feat. Vera Blue
Northeast Party House – “Shelf Life”
Stace Cadet & KLP – “Energy”

Best Group
5 Seconds Of Summer – CALM 
Lime Cordiale – 14 Steps To A Better You
Tame Impala – The Slow Rush
The Teskey Brothers – Live At The Forum

Breakthrough Artist presented By PPCA
Alex the Astronaut – The Theory of Absolutely Nothing 
Lime Cordiale – 14 Steps To A Better You
Mallrat – Driving Music 
Miiesha – Nyaaringu 
The Kid LAROI – F_k Love 

Best Pop Release
Amy Shark – Everybody Rise 
Lime Cordiale – 14 Steps To A Better You 
Sia – Together 
Tame Impala – Lost In Yesterday 
Troye Sivan – In A Dream

Best Hip-Hop Release presented by Hennessy
Baker Boy – “Meditjin” feat. JessB
Briggs – “Always Was”EP
Illy – Last Laugh 
Sampa The Great
The Kid LAROI – F_k Love

Best Soul/R&B Release
Genesis Owusu – Don’t Need You
KIAN – Every Hour
Miiesha – Nyaaringu
Tash Sultana – Pretty Lady 
Tkay Maidza – Last Year Was Weird, Vol.2 

Best Independent Release
Archie Roach – Tell Me Why 
Lime Cordiale – 14 Steps To A Better You
Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds – Ghosteen 
Sampa The Great – The Return 

Best Rock Album
Cold Chisel – Blood Moon
Ocean Alley – Lonely Diamond 
Tame Impala – The Slow Rush
Violent Soho – Everything Is A-OK

Best Adult Contemporary Album
Archie Roach – Tell Me Why 
Donny Benét – Mr Experience 
Gordi – Our Two Skins 
Josh Pyke – Rome
Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds – Ghosteen

Best Country Album
Casey Barnes – Town of A Million Dreams
Fanny Lumsden – Fallow 
Jasmine Rae – Lion Side 
The McClymonts – Mayhem To Madness 
Travis Collins – Wreck Me

Best Hard Rock/Heavy Metal Album
King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard – Chunky Shrapnel 
Parkway Drive – Viva The Underdogs 
Polaris – The Death Of Me 
The Amity Affliction – Everyone Loves You…Once You Leave Them 
The Chats – High Risk Behaviour 

Best Blues & Roots Album
Busby Marou – The Great Divide 
Frank Yamma – Tjukurpa: The Story
Lucky Oceans – Purple Sky 
The Teskey Brothers – Live At The Forum 
Tracy McNeil & The GoodLife – You Be The Lightning

Best Children’s Album
Diver City – Welcome to Diver City 
Teeny Tiny Stevies – Thoughtful Songs for Little People 
The Vegetable Plot – Season Two 
The Wiggles – Choo Choo Trains, Propeller Planes & Toot Toot Chugga Chugga Big Red Car!
Tiptoe Giants – Colour the World

Best Comedy Release
Anne Edmonds – What’s Wrong With You?
Bev Killick – Crummy Mummy 
Celia Pacquola – All Talk
Megan Washington – Just Jesus (feat. Chris Ryan)
Tom Gleeson – Joy 

Best Video presented by YouTube Music
Baker Boy – Meditjin feat. JessB
Guy Sebastian – Standing With You
Lime Cordiale – Robbery
PNAU feat. Vlossom – Lucky
Sampa The Great – Time’s Up (feat. Krown)
Tame Impala – Is It True
The Chats – The Clap
Tones And I – Ur So F_kInG cOoL
Troye Sivan – Easy
Violent Soho – Pick It Up Again

Best Australian Live Act
Amy Shark – Amy Shark Regional Tour
Baker Boy – Falls Festival
Cold Chisel – Blood Moon Tour
DMA’S – Unplugged & Intimate | Laneway Festival
King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard – St Jerome’s Laneway Festival
Paul Kelly – Paul Kelly – Making Gravy 2019
PNAU – All Of Us Australian Tour
RÜFÜS DU SOL – 2019 Summer Festival Tour
Sampa The Great – The Return Australian Tour 2019
The Teskey Brothers – Run Home Slow

Song of the Year presented by YouTube Music
5 Seconds Of Summer – Teeth
Flume Feat. Vera Blue – Rushing Back
Hilltop Hoods Feat. Illy & Ecca Vandal – Exit Sign
Lime Cordiale – Robbery
Mallrat – Charlie
Ruel – Painkiller
Sam Fischer – This City
The Jungle Giants – Heavy Hearted
The Rubens – Live In Life
Tones and I – Never Seen the Rain

Best International Artist
Dua Lipa – Future Nostalgia
Eminem – Music To Be Murdered By 
Halsey – Manic 
Harry Styles – Fine Line 
Juice WRLD – Legends Never Die
Justin Bieber – Changes
Lewis Capaldi – Divinely Uninspired To A Hellish Extent
Lizzo – Cuz I Love You
Taylor Swift – Folklore 
The Weeknd – After Hours.

Listen to the best of Tame Impala on Apple Music and Spotify.

1 Comment

1 Comment

  1. John Porter

    October 15, 2020 at 6:58 pm

    A drag that you didn’t iunclude the Jazz category that included another nom,ination for Paul Kelly – his collaboration with Paul Grabowsky, “Please Leave Your Light On” for Best Jazz Album…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

uDiscover Music - Back To Top
uDiscover Music - Back To Top