Tame Impala’s Kevin Parker Nominated For 2021 APRA Awards

This year, the late Helen Reddy will also be honored with the Ted Albert Award for Outstanding Services to Australian Music.

Published on

Photo: Kevin Parker via Getty Images

Tame Impala’s Kevin Parker will square off with Amy Shark, Guy Sebastian and others for the song of the year title at the 2021 APRA Awards, slated to take place April 28 in Sydney.

The peer-voted song of the year category is considered one of the top honors an Australian songwriter can add to their collection.

Parker has scored a nomination for Tame Impala’s “Lost In Yesterday,” while Shark’s “Everybody Rise” (co-written with Joel Little) extends her streak of nominations in the category to five years, a stretch that includes a circular trophy in 2019.

Tame Impala - Lost in Yesterday (Official Video)

Click to load video

Also up for song of the year is playwright, comedian and singer-songwriter Tim Minchin’s “Carry You”; Guy Sebastian’s “Standing With You”; and “Gadigal Land,” written by songwriters Rob Hirst, Bunna Lawrie and Gadigal poet Joel Davison, for the chart-topping Midnight Oil album of the same name.

Parker, Shark and Sebastian head into the ceremony with multiple nominations, as do Tones And I, The Rubens, INXS’ Andrew Farriss, Flume featuring Vera Blue, Dean Lewis, Miiesha and Lime Cordiale. You cans see all the 2021 APRA Awards nominations at the event’s official website.

Following a virtual edition held during the peak of the pandemic, this year’s edition of the APRA Music Awards will return as a live industry event.

Elsewhere, Helen Reddy, the late singer, songwriter and activist whose 1972 hit “I Am Woman” became a feminist anthem, will be honored with the Ted Albert Award for Outstanding Services to Australian Music.

Reddy, who passed away in 2019, aged 78, will be the first of two recipients on the night, with the second winner to be announced in April, ahead of the annual gala.

In another change from regular programming, highlights from the ceremony will stream on the night from the APRA AMCOS official YouTube page.

Julia Zemiro, Ziggy Ramo and Georgia Mooney will host the 2021 APRAs from the International Convention Centre Grand Ballroom on Darling Harbour.

The tenth anniversary 4-LP set of Tame Impala’s Innerspeaker can be bought here.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

uDiscover Music - Back To Top
uDiscover Music - Back To Top