Years & Years Win BBC Accolade

Published on

Years & Years photo by David M. Benett/Dave Benett and Getty Images for ASOS
Photo: David M. Benett/Dave Benett/Getty Images for ASOS

Polydor/Universal synth-pop act Years & Years have today (Friday) been named as winners of the prestigious BBC Sound Of 2015 poll. They triumphed ahead of Virgin’s James Bay, named at No. 2 but last month chosen as the recipient of the 2015 Critics’ Choice BRIT Award. Years & Years were also shortlisted for that title alongside Island’s George The Poet, who came fifth in the BBC survey.

Londoners Years & Years, who had their first UK top 30 single in late November with ‘Desire,’ saw their name rising to great critical prominence during 2014, helped in no small measure by supporting last year’s BBC poll winner, Sam Smith, on tour. The list is compiled from the selections of 139 journalists and broadcasters.

BBC Radio 1 DJ Huw Stephens, who revealed the band’s win on the network, said: “Years & Years have already and will continue to capture imaginations with their electronic melodies and lively on stage sets.’ Alison Howe, producer of BBC2’s ‘Later With Jools Holland’ show, added: “This trio are making dance music that wears its heart and soul on its sleeve. Their countless electro pop anthems will fill many a festival tent next summer.”

Years & Years - Desire (Official Video)

Click to load video

“Something incredibly amazing and insane has happened that none of us can really believe,” wrote Years & Years on their Facebook page. “Thank you BBC Music Sound Of 2015 for giving us the top spot, none of this has really sunk in yet, there are so many great people on the list and we’re so happy to be on there. We promise we will do our best to make the best sounds possible!” After shows in Holland and New York this month and Paris next, the band start a British tour on February 26.

With Years & Years emerging victorious and James Bay at No, 2 in the Sound Of 2015 poll, Stormzy came in at No. 3, Raury at No. 4 and George The Poet at No. 5. Sam Smith won last year’s title in a top five shortlist that also featured Ella Eyre, Banks, Sampha and George Ezra.

Format: Union Jack flagUK English
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

uDiscover Music - Back To Top
uDiscover Music - Back To Top