‘Yesterday’ Tracklisting Unveiled With Himesh Patel Video Performance

The soundtrack includes new versions of The Beatles’ most beloved music performed by the film’s star Himesh Patel.

Published on

Yesterday film soundtrack cover

The original motion picture soundtrack for the much-anticipated Yesterday will be released by Polydor on 21 June. The film, directed by the Oscar-winning Danny Boyle, imagines a world in which only one man in the world remembers the work of The Beatles. The soundtrack includes new versions of their most beloved music performed by the film’s star Himesh Patel. The album is produced by two-time Golden Globe-nominated composer Daniel Pemberton.

Yesterday is descried as “a rock’n’roll comedy about music, dreams, friendship and the long and winding road that leads to the love of your life.” It describes a world in which a mysterious global blackout wipes The Beatles from history. Patel’s character Jack, a struggling singer-songwriter, finds himself performing songs by the most celebrated group in music history, to a world that’s never heard them. Yesterday had its world premiere at Tribeca Film Festival in New York City and opens in cinemas on 28 June.

Today (14 June) is the 54th anniversary of the day The Beatles recorded the titular ‘Yesterday,’ and is marked by the announcement of the tracklisting for the soundtrack. Additionally, the ‘Yesterday’ video, of Patel performing the title song, is now available. It was captured during his recent sessions at London’s Abbey Road Studios and also features footage from the film.

Yesterday - Live at Abbey Road Studios (Himesh Patel)

Click to load video

Those who pre-order the soundtrack in digital format will instantly receive two versions of ‘Yesterday,’ performed by Patel in the film and at Abbey Road, as well as his version of George Harrison’s classic Beatles ballad ‘Something.’

Screenwriter Richard Curtis explains the impact of the song ‘Yesterday’ in the film. “The reaction of Jack’s friends when he performs it is his [and our] first clue that something strange is going on,” he says. “Jack’s friends claim to have never heard it before, and believe Jack wrote it. In that scene, you are looking for a pure-perfect song where everyone would be open-mouthed on hearing it. So that’s why ‘Yesterday’ went in.”

Yesterday film image

Photo: Paramount Pictures

Yesterday soundtrack producer Pemberton adds: “Ultimately, this film is a great example of the power of song. Music is something that connects with so many people; it can change the world. It’s nice to be reminded of that.”

Patel was introduced to the music of The Beatles at an early age by his mother. “We stayed true to the songs lyrically and musically, but also made them Jack’s own,” he says. “It was great to be reminded of these wonderful songs and to play them in my own way.

“This film serves as an introduction to a lot of young people who haven’t had the privilege of listening to The Beatles. Both people who are diehard fans and those who are new to the music will appreciate the film for different reasons, but it affirms the magic of their music for all audiences.”

The original motion picture soundtrack for Yesterday is released on 21 June. Scroll down for the full tracklisting, and pre-order it here.


1. Yesterday – From the Film ‘Yesterday’
2. The World is Universal (Universal Fanfare)
3. Summer Song – From the Film ‘Yesterday’
4. Interlude I: A Day in The Life
5. I Saw Her Standing There – Tracks On The Tracks Sessions
6. Something – From the album ‘One Man Only’
7. Let It Be – From the album ‘One Man Only’
8. Interlude II: Strawberries
9. Carry That Weight – From the Film ‘Yesterday’
10. Here Comes the Sun – From the album ‘One Man Only’
11. The Long & Winding Road – Recorded Backstage
12. Interlude III: Gorleston Beach
13. Help! – Live At Pier Hotel
14. Yesterday – From the album ‘One Man Only’
15. She Loves You – Tracks On The Tracks Sessions
16. A Hard Day’s Night – From the album ‘One Man Only’
17. Something – From the Film ‘Yesterday’
18. In My Life – From the album ‘One Man Only’
19. Interlude IV: Train Tracks
20. I Want to Hold Your Hand – Tracks On The Tracks Sessions
21. Back in the USSR – Live At Wembley
22. All You Need Is Love – Live At Wembley
23. Interlude V: Yesterday’s Rain
24. The Long & Winding Road – From the album ‘One Man Only’
25. Hey Jude – From the album ‘One Man Only’
26. Ob-La-Di, Ob-La-Da – Live At Cleves School
27. Interlude VI – Life Goes On

Explore our The Beatles Artist Page.

Format: Union Jack flagUK English
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

uDiscover Music - Back To Top
uDiscover Music - Back To Top