‘Post Pop’ Album News From Iggy

Published on

Punk rock pioneer Iggy Pop has announced the 18 March release of Post Pop Depression, his new album produced by Joshua Homme of Queens of the Stone Age. It marks the emergence of a new “supergroup” in which the pair are joined by Dean Fertita, also of QOTSA as well as The Dead Weather, and Arctic Monkeys drummer Matt Helders.

Here’s the new band’s live performance of ‘Gardenia’ from the album this week on The Late Show with Stephen Colbert on US network TV. That came after the surprise announcement of the project in a feature in the New York Times. The album was recorded in secret at Homme’s Joshua Tree and Pink Duck studios. They’re joined for this live performance by QOTSA’s Troy Van Leeuwen and Matt Sweeney of Chavez.

Click to load video

Post Pop Depression will be released on Rekords Rekords/Loma Vista/Caroline International as Pop’s 17th album. It’s his first since the 2013 collaboration with the Stooges, Ready To Die, before which he released his own album of chiefly French cover versions, Après, in 2012.

“It’s easy to keep a secret when there’s nobody there to tell,” Iggy told Colbert on the show. “It’s lovely, because you have a chance to sort of make mistakes and figure things out and find your own path. When you make a record, nobody is aware you’re doing it, you’re kind of making it for each other and you’re kind of there to excite and dazzle each other.”

Explore our dedicated Iggy Pop Artist Page

Format: Union Jack flagUK English
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

uDiscover Music - Back To Top
uDiscover Music - Back To Top