5 Seconds Of Summer Get Reflective In New Single ‘Old Me’

“Old Me carries a youthful spirit and follows the narrative of a young person’s life growing up, for better or for worse.”

Published on

5 Seconds Of Summer - Andy DeLuca
Photo: Andy Deluca courtesy of Interscope Records

5 Seconds of Summer gets nostalgic on their new single ‘Old Me’, the latest track from their upcoming album Calm, due out on 27 March via Interscope Records.

“Shout out to the old me/And everything you showed me,” sings frontman Luke Hemmings before he breaks out into a soaring chorus.

Along with sharing the new single, the Australian pop-punk outfit also released an accompanying lyric video that features childhood photos of all the band members including Hemmings, guitarist Michael Clifford, bassist Calum Hood and drummer Ashton Irwin.

5 Seconds of Summer - Old Me (Lyric Video)

Click to load video

“Old Me carries a youthful spirit and follows the narrative of a young person’s life growing up, for better or for worse,” Hemmings shared in a statement. “Every decision we made, whether right or wrong, has led us to the men we are proud to be today. We were thrown into the public eye at a young age and gratefully had each other at a confusing time. Sometimes it’s important we look back in order to appreciate the journey we’ve been on together.”

‘Old Me’ is the fourth single off Calm, and follows the previously shared singles, ‘Easier’, ‘Teeth’ and ‘No Shame’. While this marks the band’s fourth studio album, it’s also their first for Interscope.

Earlier this year, 5SOS announced the North American leg of their upcoming No Shame 2020 Tour, which will kick off with a trio of dates in Mexico this August. With the first US show taking place on 19 August at Fillmore Auditorium in Denver, the headline run includes dates in Chicago (26 August), Boston (2 September) and Irvine, California (23 September).

The group also recently notched a big milestone this week, when their hit single ‘Youngblood’ surpassed a billion streams, joining Australasian Performing Right Association’s (APRA) list of billionaires.

“We’ve always taken risks and not really understood the seriousness that surrounds songs, they just explain our lives from our perspective, and we keep it close to our hearts and we keep hustling,” Irwin said in a speech after receiving the award. “We really respect this award and everyone who works on these songs and getting them heard.”

Calm can be pre-ordered here. View the full tracklist below.

1. Red Desert
2. No Shame
3. Old Me
4. Easier
5. Teeth
6. Wildflower
7. Best Years
8. Not In The Same Way
9. Lover Of Mine
10. Thin White Lies
11. Lonely Heart
12. High

Format: Union Jack flagUK English
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

uDiscover Music - Back To Top
uDiscover Music - Back To Top