5 Seconds Of Summer, Amy Shark Triumph At The 2018 ARIA Awards In Sydney

Camila Cabello also narrowly beat Taylor Swift, Drake and Imagine Dragons to win Best International Artist.

Published on

5 Seconds Summer Amy Shark ARIAs

Fast-rising popsters 5 Seconds Of Summer (5SOS) were among the big winners at last night’s 2018 ARIA Awards in Australia. 5SOS scooped the Best Australian Live Act and Best Group awards, while they also took home the Apple Music Song Of The Year Award for ‘Youngblood’. Also among the victors was Amy Shark, who also accepted three awards – Best Pop Release for Love Monster; Best Female Artist and Apple Music Album Of The Year for Love Monster. Camila Cabello, meanwhile, beat off stiff competition from artists such as Drake, Ed Sheeran, Imagine Dragons and Taylor Swift to win the coveted Best International Artist prize.

As uDiscover Music previously reported, country music legend Keith Urban – who arrived at the end with his wife Nicole Kidman – hosted the show, for which the biggest stars of the Australian music industry gathered. The ceremony took place under extremely stormy circumstances in Sydney. However, a little wind and rain never hurt anybody, and certainly didn’t stop stars from celebrating today.

Gold Coast-born singer-songwriter Amy Shark led the nominations with nine, followed by Melbourne’s Courtney Barnett. Ina addition, Kasey Chambers was inducted into the ARIA Hall of Fame for her contribution to Australian music. Chambers, the youngest inductee to the ARIA Hall of Fame and only the 12th female artist to be recognised in the three-decade history of the awards, paid tribute to her brother Nash, who has produced many of her records.

Here is a full list of the 2018 ARIA Awards, with the winners of each category listed in bold:

Apple Music Song Of The Year:
5 Seconds Of Summer – Youngblood
Amy Shark – I Said Hi
Angus & Julia Stone – Chateau
Conrad Sewell – Healing Hands
Dean Lewis – Be Alright
Peking Duk – Fire/Reprisal
Pnau – Go Bang
Sheppard – Coming Home
Troye Sivan – My My My!
Vance Joy – Lay It On Me

Apple Music Album Of The Year:
Amy Shark – Love Monster
Courtney Barnett – Tell Me How You Really Feel
Gurrumul – Djarimirri (Child of the Rainbow)
Pnau – Changa
Troye Sivan – Bloom

Music Teacher of the Year:
Becky Hall (Education Institute, Royal Children’s Hospital Melbourne VIC 3052)
Scott Maxwell (Grant High School, Mount Gambier SA 5209)
Dean Harawira (Nerang State High School, Gold Coast QLD 4211)
Deborah Skelton (Caladenia Primary School, Canning Vale WA 6155)

Best Female Artist:
Alison Wonderland
Amy Shark
Courtney Barnett
Tash Sultana

Best Video:
Amy Shark – I Said Hi
Client Liaison – Survival In The City
Courtney Barnett – Need A Little Time
Dean Lewis – Be Alright
Gang Of Youths – The Heart Is A Muscle
Mojo Juju – Native Tongue
Peking Duk – Fire
Pnau – Go Bang
Tash Sultana – Salvation
The Presets – Do What You Want

Best Children’s Album:
Justine Clarke – The Justine Clarke Show!
Lah-Lah – 10th Birthday Party
Sam Moran – Santa’s Coming!
Teeny Tiny Stevies – Helpful Songs For Little People
The Wiggles – Wiggle Pop!

Best Male Artist:
Dan Sultan
Troye Sivan
Vance Joy

Best Blues & Roots Album:
Angus & Julia Stone – Snow
Emily Wurramara – Milyakburra
Mama Kin Spender – Golden Magnetic
Ruby Boots – Don’t Talk About It
Tash Sultana – Flow State 

Best Hard Rock/Heavy Metal Album:
DZ Deathrays – Bloody Lovely
King Parrot – Ugly Produce
Parkway Drive – Reverence
Polaris – The Mortal Coil
West Thebarton – Different Beings Being Different

Best Independent Release:
Angus & Julia Stone – Snow
Courtney Barnett – Tell Me How You Really Feel
DMA’S – For Now (I OH YOU)
Gurrumul – Djarimirri 
Pnau – Go Bang

Breakthrough Artist:
Alex Lahey
Jack River
Mojo Juju

Best Urban Release:
360 – Vintage Modern
Esoterik – My Astral Plane
Hilltop Hoods – Clark Griswold (feat. Adrian Eagle)
Kerser – Engraved In The Game
Mojo Juju – Native Tongue

Best Original Soundtrack or Musical Theatre Cast Album:
Evelyn Ida Morris – Acute Misfortune (Original Soundtrack)
Jessica Mauboy – The Secret Daughter Season Two (Songs for the Original 7 Series)
Jimmy Barnes – Working Class Boy: The Soundtracks
LIARS – 1/1 (Original Soundtrack)
Various Artists – Muriel’s Wedding: The Musical (The Original Cast Recording)

Best Dance Release:
Alison Wonderland – Awake
Fisher – Losing It
Peking Duk – Fire
Pnau – Go Bang

Best International Artist:
Camila Cabello 
Ed Sheeran
Imagine Dragons
Post Malone
Sam Smith
Taylor Swift

Best Contemporary Album:
Courtney Barnett & Kurt Vile – Lotta Sea Lice
Dan Sultan – Killer Under A Blood Moon
Missy Higgins – Solastalgia
Vance Joy – Nation Of Two 

Best Country Album:
Adam Eckersley & Brooke McClymont – Adam & Brooke
Fanny Lumsden – Real Class Act
Kasey Chambers & The Fireside Disciples – Campfire
The Wolfe Brothers – Country Heart
Travis Collins – Brave & The Broken

Best Group:
5 Seconds Of Summer
Peking Duk

Best Rock Album:
Camp Cope – How To Socialise & Make Friends
Courtney Barnett – Tell Me How You Really Feel
DMA’S – For Now
Luca Brasi – Stay
Middle Kids – Lost Friends

Best Pop Release:
5 Seconds Of Summer – Youngblood
Amy Shark – Love Monster
Dean Lewis – Be Alright
Jack River – Sugar Mountain
Troye Sivan – Bloom

Best Australian Live Act:
5 Seconds Of Summer
Amy Shark
Client Liaison
Courtney Barnett
Dean Lewis
Gang Of Youths
Paul Kelly
Peking Duk
Tash Sultana

Format: Union Jack flagUK English
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

uDiscover Music - Back To Top
uDiscover Music - Back To Top