Hear Celeste’s New Song For Netflix’s ‘The Trial Of The Chicago 7’

The British singer lent her soulful vocals to ‘Hear My Voice’ plus two additional songs on the film’s soundtrack.

Published on

Celeste Hear My Voice

A first taste of Celeste’s musical contribution to The Trial of the Chicago 7 is available today in the form of “Hear My Voice,” a powerful song co-written by the British soul singer and Daniel Pemberton, an Emmy, BAFTA, and Golden Globe-winning composer, who scored the Aaron Sorkin film.

While The Trial of the Chicago 7 premieres October 16 on Netflix, the video for “Hear My Voice,” features a selection of clips from the historical legal drama. The film’s original score, which includes two additional performances by Celeste, will also be available on October 16 via Varèse Sarabande Records.

The Trial of the Chicago 7 tells the story of what was intended to be a peaceful protest at the 1968 Democratic National Convention that turned into a violent clash with police and the National Guard. The organizers of the protest – including Abbie Hoffman (played by Sacha Baron Cohen), Jerry Rubin (Jeremy Strong), Tom Hayden (Eddie Redmayne), and Bobby Seale (Yahya Abdul-Mateen II) – were charged with conspiracy to incite a riot and the trial that followed was one of the most notorious in history.


“I am so grateful to be part of such an important and timely film,” said Celeste in a statement. “Daniel Pemberton and I wanted to create a song that would be as meaningful, relevant, and powerful as Aaron Sorkin’s film. He’s a true visionary and it really is an honor to contribute to this story.”

Pemberton, who has scored such films as Molly’s Game, Steve Jobs, All the Money in the World, and Motherless Brooklyn, recalled that “one of the first things Aaron Sorkin talked to me about was his vision for a song that could end the film, that could leave us with a sense of hope and possibility, of light beyond the darkness. I wanted to write something that captured the ideals of protest, that every person has a voice and a dream for the world and that those voices deserve to be heard. ‘Hear My Voice’ was that idea.”

He continued, “I knew straight away I wanted to collaborate with Celeste, as her voice is one of the most magical things I have heard in recent times. Her voice soars on the track, and is an expression of freedom, defiance, and hope.”

Pemberton added, “Like anyone who makes art or desires change, we all want people to hear our voice. I am incredibly proud that together, we’ve made a song with a strong, powerful, and simple message at its heart that feels as relevant to now, as it does to the events in Chicago in 1969, and I’m very excited for the rest of the world to hear it.”

Click to load video

Celeste, meanwhile, recently teamed up with Apple Music for their “At Home With” sessions. The artist, who was named BBC Music’s Sound of 2020, recorded stripped-down versions of “Both Sides Of The Moon” and her recent single, “Little Runaway,” as well as a cover of The Specials’ “A Message To You Rudy,” featuring Hak Baker.

The Trial of the Chicago 7 Original Soundtrack will be available on October 16. Scroll down to view the tracklist and pre-order it here.

The Trial of the Chicago 7 Original Soundtrack Tracklist:
1. Hear My Dream [Performed by Daniel Pemberton and Celeste] (1:25)
2. We’re Going to Chicago (6:17)
3. The Trial (4:38)
4. Conspiracy Office (1:12)
5. My Life (1:33)
6. Sequestering the Jury (1:18)
7. Meet the Police (0:52)
8. Take the Hill (6:14)
9. Riot Aftermath (1:40)
10. Don’t Stand (2:19)
11. Star Witness (2:31)
12. Motion Denied (3:30)
13. Blood on the Streets (7:01)
14. Trial Day 151 (3:11)
15. Stand Up (The Chicago 7) (3:41)
16. Hear My Voice (credits) [Performed by Celeste] (3:05)
17. Take the Hill (Hear My Screams) [Performed by Celeste] (3:19)

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

uDiscover Music - Back To Top
uDiscover Music - Back To Top