Dr. Lonnie Smith’s New Album, ‘Breathe’ Is Out Now On Blue Note

The new title is the legendary Hammond organist’s third album since his 2016 return to the label where he first made a name for himself in the late-1960s.

Published on

Photo: Frank De Blase

Dr. Lonnie Smith has released Breathe, the third new Blue Note album by legendary Hammond B-3 organist since his 2016 return to the label where he first made a name for himself in the late-1960s.

Produced by Don Was, Breathe is a dynamic eight-song set, six tracks of which were recorded during Smith’s 75th birthday celebration at the Jazz Standard in New York City in 2017. The album captures the NEA Jazz Master with his trio of guitarist Jonathan Kreisberg and drummer Johnathan Blake, as well as an expanded septet featuring John Ellis on tenor saxophone, Jason Marshall on baritone saxophone, Sean Jones on trumpet, and Robin Eubanks on trombone, plus guest vocalist Alicia Olatuja. The album is bookended by two captivating studio tracks featuring rock icon Iggy Pop.

Breathe is a companion to Smith’s 2018 trio album All In My Mind, which was recorded during the same celebratory week at the Jazz Standard, and was given a vinyl release last year as part of the acclaimed Tone Poet Audiophile Vinyl Reissue Series. The 2016 album Evolution marked Smith’s Blue Note homecoming nearly 50 years after the organist made his first date for the label as a sideman on alto saxophonist Lou Donaldson’s 1967 classic Alligator Boogaloo.

Iggy Pop on "First Look" with Don Was of Blue Note Records

Click to load video

From 1968-1970 Smith recorded his own run of five soul jazz classics from his label debut Think! thru Live at Club Mozambique, both of which were recently reissued as part of the Blue Note 80 Vinyl Reissue Series. The spotlight playlist Dr. Lonnie Smith: The Finest features some of Smith’s greatest Blue Note tracks over the past 53 years.

“Blue Note is like family,” Smith says. “It’s like I never left. Everybody is great to work with. They give me the opportunity to play my life, to tell my story.”

Breathe is out now. Scroll down to read the full tracklist and buy it here.

“Why Can’t We Live Together” featuring Iggy Pop (Timmy Thomas)
“Bright Eyes” – Live (Dr. Lonnie Smith)
“Too Damn Hot” – Live (Dr. Lonnie Smith)
“Track 9” – Live (Dr. Lonnie Smith)
“World Weeps” – Live (Dr. Lonnie Smith)
“Pilgrimage” – Live featuring Alicia Olatuja (Dr. Lonnie Smith, lyrics by Lynne Meryl Koenigsberg)
“Epistrophy” – Live (Thelonious Monk)
“Sunshine Superman” featuring Iggy Pop (Donovan)

1 Comment

1 Comment

  1. Mike

    March 30, 2021 at 2:27 am

    Iggy’s a little off on his Doc references. Live at Club Harlem? The Dap-Tones? Haha. Not complaining. Love Iggy and am so happy for this collaboration. Amazing stuff.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

uDiscover Music - Back To Top
uDiscover Music - Back To Top