(function(h,o,t,j,a,r){ h.hj=h.hj||function(){(h.hj.q=h.hj.q||[]).push(arguments)}; h._hjSettings={hjid:104204,hjsv:5}; a=o.getElementsByTagName('head')[0]; r=o.createElement('script');r.async=1; r.src=t+h._hjSettings.hjid+j+h._hjSettings.hjsv; a.appendChild(r); })(window,document,'//static.hotjar.com/c/hotjar-','.js?sv=');
Join us


Gregg Allman’s Solo Debut ‘Laid Back’ And Live Album For Multi-Format Reissue

‘Laid Back’ first appeared in October 1973 and is vastly expanded for this release, while the live set has been unavailable for more than 30 years.

Published on

Gregg Allman Laid Back packshot

The debut solo album by Gregg Allman, Laid Back, and his long out-of-print live LP The Gregg Allman Tour will both be reissued by Mercury/UMe on 30 August. Laid Back first appeared in October 1973 and is vastly expanded for this release. The live set has been unavailable for more than 30 years. Both albums will be available in 180 gram black vinyl and as limited edition colour vinyl pressings.

Laid Back appeared a few months after the Allman Brothers Band’s universally admired fourth studio album Brothers And Sisters. Gregg co-produced the solo debut with Johnny Sandlin and explored his soul and gospel influences on a hugely impressive collection. The record reached No. 13 on the Billboard chart and contained his version of ‘Midnight Rider,’ a top 20 hit in both America and Canada.

The album will be reissued as a remastered and expanded deluxe set on 2CDs and digitally, in a 180-gram black vinyl version and a 180 gram, limited purple and white marbled colour vinyl edition. The Gregg Allman Tour, recorded on his subsequent itinerary accompanied by a 24-piece orchestra with members of the New York Philharmonic, will be available in a 2LP vinyl set for the first time since 1987. As well as a 180 gram black vinyl pressing, there will be a limited colour pressing on 180 gram grey and white marble vinyl.

Digital preorders of Laid Back include an instant grat download of Allman’s unreleased demo version of Jackson Browne’s ‘These Days,’ which is also now available to stream. The vastly expanded album now contains 34 tracks, including 26 previously unreleased or rare songs, or new mixes. A particular highlight is a solo acoustic live performance of ‘Melissa,’ recorded at the Capitol Theatre, New Jersey on 13 April 1974.

The 2CD deluxe edition of Laid Back features beautiful new packaging with unreleased photos and extensive sleeve notes by the Allman Brothers Band historian John Lynskey. The Gregg Allman Tour double LP mimics the original release with sides one and four pressed on disc one, and sides two and three pressed on disc two, optimising playback for multi-disc turntables.

The live set was recorded at Carnegie Hall in New York on 10 and 11 April and at the Capitol Theatre on 13 April 1974. Allman played the shows with members of the band Cowboy (Scott Boyer, Randall Bramblett, David Brown, Chuck Leavell, Bill Stewart, Tommy Talton), and the 24-piece orchestra. Cowboy take the lead on their songs ‘Time Will Take Us’ and ‘Where Can You Go?,; the latter with Allman on keyboards. The album also features one of his personal favourites, ‘Oncoming Traffic,’ which didn’t appear on any studio release.

Laid Back and The Gregg Allman Tour are reissued on 30 August. Scroll down for the full tracklisting, and pre-order them here.


LAID BACK remastered
1. Midnight Rider
2. Queen Of Hearts
3. Please Call Home
4. Don’t Mess Up A Good Thing
5. These Days
6. Multi-Colored Lady
7. All My Friends
8. Will The Circle Be Unbroken

LAID BACK early mixes
1. Midnight Rider (Early Mix)*
2. Queen Of Hearts (Early Mix)
3. Please Call Home (Early Mix)*
4. Don’t Mess Up A Good Thing (Early Mix)*
5. These Days (Early Mix)*
6. Multi-Colored Lady (Early Mix)
7. All My Friends (Early Mix)*
8. Will The Circle Be Unbroken (Early Mix)*

LAID BACK demos, outtakes & alternates
1. Never Knew How Much (Demo)**
2. All My Friends (Demo)
3. Please Call Home (Demo)*
4. Queen Of Hearts (Demo)*
5. God Rest His Soul (Solo Guitar & Vocal Demo)
6. Rollin’ Stone (Catfish Blues) (Solo Guitar & Vocal Demo)**
7. Will The Circle Be Unbroken (Solo Guitar & Vocal Demo)
8. Multi-Colored Lady (Solo Guitar & Vocal Demo)
9. These Days (Solo Guitar, Piano & Vocal Demo)*
10. Shadow Dream Song (Solo Guitar & Vocal Demo)
11. Wasted Words**
12. These Days (Alternate Version with Pedal Steel Guitar)
13. Multi-Colored Lady (Rough Mix)*
14. These Days (Rough Mix)*
15. God Rest His Soul (Rehearsal)
16. Midnight Rider (Rehearsal)*
17. Song For Adam / Shadow Dream Song (Solo Guitar & Vocal Demo)
18. Melissa (Live at the Capitol Theatre)*

* Previously unreleased
** Previously unreleased mix

Side 1
1. Midnight Rider
2. Queen Of Hearts
3. Please Call Home
4. Don’t Mess Up A Good Thing

Side 2
1. These Days
2. Multi-Colored Lady
3. All My Friends
4. Will The Circle Be Unbroken

Side 1
1. Don’t Mess Up A Good Thing
2. Queen Of Hearts
3. Feel So Bad

Side 4
1. Turn On Your Love Light
2. Oncoming Traffic
3. Will The Circle Be Unbroken

Side 2
1. Stand Back
2. Time Will Take Us*
3. Where Can You Go?*

Side 3
1. Double Cross
2. Dreams
3. Are You Lonely For Me Baby

* Performed by Cowboy

Explore our Allman Brothers Band Artist Page.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Don't Miss