New Joe Perry Solo Album To Feature Guns N’Roses, Cheap Trick Stars

Published on

Guns and Roses
Photo: Paul Natkin/WireImage

Aerosmith guitarist Joe Perry is to release his new, all-star solo album Sweetzerland Manifesto in January 2018.

The 10-track album, executive produced by Perry’s Hollywood Vampires band mate, Johnny Depp, features guest vocalists including Cheap Trick’s Robin Zander, the New York Dolls’ David Johansen and Terry Reid alongside musicians like drummer Zak Starkey and Perry’s sons Tony and Roman on synths and drum programming.

“It’s going to be interesting to see what songs people gravitate to because there’s such a wide variety of tunes,” Perry said in a statement.

All of the Sweetzerland Manifesto tracks were either written by Perry or a collaboration between the guitarist and his guest vocalist. The lone exception is a cover of P.F. Sloan’s ‘Eve of Destruction,’ featuring Perry himself on vocals while Depp provides drums.

The Joe Perry Project @ David Letterman (Dec. 11th, 2009)

Click to load video

Known primarily for his acting, Depp has also maintained links with rock and roll throughout his career. He features in Marilyn Manson’s controversial new video for ‘Kill4Me’ and plays guitar with Joe Perry in the aforementioned Hollywood Vampires. This talented ad hoc outfit also features rock and roll legends Alice Cooper and Guns N’Roses former rhythm section Duff McKagan and Matt Sorum. The band released their self-titled debut album in 2015, produced by Bob Ezrin.

Sweetzerland Manifesto, due out on 18 January on Roman Records, is Perry’s first solo LP since 2009’s Have Guitar, Will Travel. Perry recorded the album at Los Angeles’ Studio 1480, with the guitarist producing the album with Bruce Witkin.

Sweetzerland Manifesto full tracklist:

‘Rumble In The Jungle’ (instrumental)
‘I’ll Do Happiness’ (featuring Terry Reid)
‘Aye, Aye, Aye’ (featuring Robin Zander)
‘I Wanna Roll’ (featuring David Johansen)
‘Sick & Tired’ (featuring Terry Reid)
‘Haberdasher Blues’ (featuring David Johansen)
‘Spanish Sushi’ (instrumental)
‘Eve Of Destruction’ (featuring Joe Perry)
‘I’m Going Crazy’ (featuring David Johansen)
‘Won’t Let Me Go’ (featuring Terry Reid)

Explore Our Aerosmith Artist Page

Format: Union Jack flagUK English


  1. Sancheezie Loco

    November 17, 2017 at 1:44 pm

    I don’t believe Matt Sorum or Duff McKagan are on the album as the title of the article implies. They only work with Joe in the Hollywood Vampires. Even the article says this.

  2. Tim PEACOCK

    June 5, 2021 at 9:23 pm

    The headline, and lead image states that Perry’s album was to include members of Guns N’ Roses.

    It doesn’t, and the body of the article then goes on to contradict the headline.

    Perhaps the clickbait lure of the title was too strong, but come on – someone needs to fact check articles that hacks like this file before publishing.

Comments are temporarily disabled and will return shortly.
John Lennon - Mind Games The Ultimate Collection
John Lennon
Mind Games (The Ultimate Collection)
Frank Zappa - Apostrophe 50th Anniversary Edition
Frank Zappa
Apostrophe (50th Anniversary Edition)
Johnny Cash - Songwriter LP
Johnny Cash
Songwriter LP
Beastie Boys - Ill Communication Deluxe Edition 3LP
Beastie Boys
Ill Communication Deluxe Edition 3LP
Nina Simone - Nina Simone In Concert LP
Nina Simone
Nina Simone In Concert (LP)
Nelly Furtado - Whoa, Nelly! 2LP
Nelly Furtado
Whoa, Nelly! 2LP
uDiscover Music - Back To Top
uDiscover Music - Back To Top