Makaya McCraven Shares Funky New Single, ‘Black Rhythm Happening’

From his new album, ‘Deciphering The Message’, the new track is an inspired remake of a track originally recorded by Sun Ra associate, Eddie Gale.

Published on

Makaya McCraven - Photo: Nolis Anderson

Makaya McCraven has unveiled “Black Rhythm Happening,” the fourth and final single from his new remix album, Deciphering The Message. The tune is a funky remake of the title track of a 1969 album by the adventurous trumpeter and Sun Ra associate Eddie Gale and you can hear it below.

Makaya McCraven - Black Rhythm Happening

Click to load video

With his new remix album, Deciphering The Message, the Chicago-based drummer, producer, and beat scientist puts a modern bounce on Blue Note classics by Art Blakey, Horace Silver, and Hank Mobley, among others. The new album will be released November 19 on vinyl, CD, and digital download.

McCraven hopes the album is both educational and an outright good listen. “I always want to make music that will connect with people in one way, where it makes them nod or feel something or transport them somewhere,” he says. “I also hope this makes them check out the source of this music. The music that we’re making now is part of the same route and is connected, so I want to honor tradition and release something that people can vibe to.”

Across numerous albums and mixtapes, McCraven has proven his mastery of the loop akin to hip-hop’s most celebrated beatmakers like Madlib and J Dilla, both of whom also found inspiration in the Blue Note catalog. With acclaimed releases like In The Moment (2015) and Universal Beings (2018), McCraven created his own lane in jazz by sampling his band playing improvised sessions throughout the world, then molding the audio several times to pull contrasting moods from it. For his previous project McCraven remixed Gil Scott-Heron’s final album I’m New Here into the equally emotive LP We’re New Again (2020).

Pre-order Deciphering The Message, out on November 19.

Deciphering The Message includes the following tracks:

“A Slice Of The Top” (AKA “Sliced Off The Top”) [from A Slice Of The Top by Hank Mobley]
“Sunset” (AKA “Son Set”) [from Whistle Stop by Kenny Dorham]
“When Your Lover Has Gone” (AKA “When You’ve Left Your Lover”) [from A Night In Tunisia by Art Blakey & The Jazz Messengers]
“ Ecaroh” (AKA “Revlis”)[from Horace Silver Trio by Horace Silver]
“Tranquillity” (AKA “Corner Of The World”) [from Components by Bobby Hutcherson]
“Wail Bait” (AKA “Wait Bail”) [from The Memorial Album by Clifford Brown]
“Coppin’ The Haven” (AKA “At The Haven Coppin’”) [from One Flight Up by Dexter Gordon]
“Frank’s Tune (AKA “De’Jeff’s Tune”) [from Easterly Winds by Jack Wilson]
“Autumn In New York” (AKA “Spring In Chicago”) [from Blue Lights, Vol.1 by Kenny Burrell]
“Monaco” (AKA “Monte Negro”) [from ‘Round About Midnight At The Cafe Bohemia by Kenny Dorham]
“Mr. Jin” (AKA “Mr. Gin”) [from Indestructible by Art Blakey & The Jazz Messengers]
“C.F.D. (AKA “D.F.C.”) [from Something Personal by Jack Wilson]
“Black Rhythm Happening” [from Black Rhythm Happening by Eddie Gale]

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Billy Idol - Rebel Yell LP
Rebel Yell (40th Expanded Edition) (Marbled Limited Edition) 2LP
Def Leppard - Pyromania 2LP
Def Leppard
Pyromania 2LP
The Who - Live At Shea Stadium 1982 3LP
The Who
Live At Shea Stadium 1982 3LP
Keane - Hopes And Fears 20th Limited Edition 2LP
Hopes And Fears 20th Limited Edition 2LP
Abba - Waterloo 50th Anniversary
Abba - Waterloo 50th Anniversary (Limited Edition 3 x 7" Box Set)
Bob Marley - Songs Of Freedom Limited Edition 6LP Box Set
Bob Marley - Songs Of Freedom Limited Edition 6LP Box Set
uDiscover Music - Back To Top
uDiscover Music - Back To Top