Marty Stuart’s Country Epic ‘The Pilgrim’ Gets Deluxe Reissue

To set the scene for the upcoming release, Rolling Stone Country has debuted one of the unheard songs on the deluxe edition, ‘Been Lonely Too Long.’

Published on

Marty Stuart The Pilgrim vinyl

Country artist and historian Marty Stuart has announced the 18 October release of a new deluxe 20th anniversary edition of his 1999 album The Pilgrim. The LP, one of the cornerstones of his entire distinguished career, was based on a true story of romance and intrigue and was produced by Stuart himself.

To be released on vinyl for the first time by MCA Nashville/UMG Nashville/UMe, it will include a bonus CD with ten previously unreleased tracks, available only with the vinyl configuration. Newly-unearthed, the songs include guest appearances by such country greats as Ralph Stanley, Emmylou Harris, Earl Scruggs (all of whom are also on the original album) and Stuart’s wife Connie Smith.

The deluxe edition of The Pilgrim can be pre-ordered via UMG Nashville or Stuart’s website. To set the scene for the upcoming release, Rolling Stone Country has debuted one of the unheard songs, ‘Been Lonely Too Long,’ which you can listen to here.

Been Lonely Too Long (Unreleased)

Click to load video

The Pilgrim is a record I dearly love,” says Stuart. “This recording changed the course of my musical life. Year after year, since its original release in 1999, I’ve heard stories from people all around the world about how The Pilgrim made its way into their lives and touched their hearts.

“Going into my archives to search out Pilgrim-related material for this release was like reaching into a dusty old treasure chest. I found songs that I’d written and forgotten, photographs I never got around to looking at, unfinished recordings from The Pilgrim sessions, and a string of archival recordings with Earl Scruggs, Johnny Cash, Ralph Stanley & the Clinch Mountain Boys, Emmylou Harris, Connie Smith, and Uncle Josh Graves that I made while they were doing their parts on The Pilgrim.

“Upon listening, those recordings stand as cherished, sacred documents of American roots music that have waited nobly in the shadows for their invitation onto the world stage of the 21st century. So many life lessons were offered in the creative process of making The Pilgrim. Perhaps the toughest of them all was letting go when the record was considered unsuccessful. However, in letting go, I learned that some things do, in fact, come back around.”

The original album also included a memorable cameo appearance by Johnny Cash, in whose band Stuart played for six years as he was emerging in country music. It also had vocals by George Jones and Pam Tillis, guitars by Mike Campbell of the Heartbreakers and Hammond B-3 by Barry Beckett of the Muscle Shoals Rhythm Section.

The Pilgrim — Deluxe Edition will be released on 18 October. Scroll down for the full tracklisting, and pre-order it here.


1)- Intro (Marty Stuart/The Pilgrim)
2)- Sometimes The Pleasure’s Worth The Pain
3)- The Pilgrim (Act I)
4)- Harlan County
5)- Reasons
1)- Love Can Go To…
2)- Red, Red Wine And Cheatin’ Songs
3)- Truck Stop
4)- Hobo’s Prayer
5)- Goin’ Nowhere Fast
1)- The Observations Of A Crow
2)- Intermission
3)- The Greatest Love Of All Time
4)- The Greatest Love Of All Time
5)- Draggin’ Around These Chains Of Love
1)- The Pilgrim (Act II)
2)- Redemption
3)- The Pilgrim (Act III)
4)- Outro (Marty Stuart/The Pilgrim)
5)- Mr. John Henry, Steel Driving Man
BONUS CD Track Listing
1)- The Pilgrim (Act IV)- with Ralph Stanley and the Clinch Mountain Boys, Connie Smith, Emmylou Harris, and Marty Stuart (Unreleased Alternate Take)
2)- That’ll Be All Right With Me- with the Rock & Roll Cowboys: Steve Arnold, Brad Davis, Gary Hogue, Gregg Stocki, Marty Stuart, Adam Wood, and Jim “Moose” Brown(Unreleased)
3)- Been Lonely Too Long- with Richard Bennett, Harry Stinson, Glenn Worf, Barry Beckett, Terri Wilson, Mick Conley, and Marty Stuart (Unreleased Pilgrim project demo)
4)- I Think We’re In Texas- with Manuel and Emmylou Harris (Unreleased)
5)- Shout Little Lulie- with Ralph Stanley and the Clinch Mountain Boys, Marty Stuart (Unreleased)
6)- Call and Response- with Uncle Josh Graves and Marty Stuart (Unreleased)
7)- Evelina- with Uncle Josh Graves and Marty Stuart (Unreleased)
8)- Tennessee Wagoner- with Earl Scruggs and Stuart Duncan (Unreleased)
9)- Even Trains Have To Cry- with Fabulous Superlatives; Paul Martin, Harry Stinson, Kenny Vaughan, Marty Stuart along with Gary Carter (Unreleased Pilgrim Project Demo)
10)- The Vanishing- with Marty Stuart and Mick Conley (Unreleased Pilgrim Project Demo)

Format: Union Jack flagUK English
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Billy Idol - Rebel Yell LP
Rebel Yell (40th Expanded Edition) (Marbled Limited Edition) 2LP
Def Leppard - Pyromania 2LP
Def Leppard
Pyromania 2LP
The Who - Live At Shea Stadium 1982 3LP
The Who
Live At Shea Stadium 1982 3LP
Keane - Hopes And Fears 20th Limited Edition 2LP
Hopes And Fears 20th Limited Edition 2LP
Abba - Waterloo 50th Anniversary
Abba - Waterloo 50th Anniversary (Limited Edition 3 x 7" Box Set)
Bob Marley - Songs Of Freedom Limited Edition 6LP Box Set
Bob Marley - Songs Of Freedom Limited Edition 6LP Box Set
uDiscover Music - Back To Top
uDiscover Music - Back To Top