National Board Of Review Award Lady Gaga Best Actress, Bradley Cooper Best Director For ‘A Star is Born’

Gaga’s role in the movie has generated awards buzz since ‘A Star Is Born’s debut at the 2018 Toronto International Film Festival.

Published on

Lady Gaga Bradley Cooper Golden Globes
Photo: Peter Lindbergh

Bradley Cooper’s lauded remake of A Star Is Born have taken several of the National Board Of Reviews’ top awards, including best director for Cooper, best actress for Lady Gaga and best supporting actor for Sam Elliott.

Gaga’s role as Ally in the movie has generated awards buzz since A Star Is Born’s debut at the 2018 Toronto International Film Festival. Past winners for the National Board of Review’s Best Actress prize include Meryl Streep for The Post, Amy Adams (Arrival), and Brie Larson (Room).

Barry Jenkins’ James Baldwin adaptation If Beale Street Could Talk took the National Board prizes for Jenkins’ screenplay and for Regina King’s supporting performance. Announced on 27 November, the annual North American honours list saw feel-good road-trip drama Green Book being named the best film of the year, and its star, Viggo Mortensen as best actor.

Lady Gaga, Bradley Cooper - Shallow (from A Star Is Born) (Official Music Video)

Click to load video

Though sometimes called an Oscar harbinger, the National Board of Review, a 109-year-old organization of film enthusiasts, academics and professionals, has typically deviated from eventual best picture winners. It last year chose Steven Spielberg’s The Post. Before that, its top winners were Manchester By the Sea, Mad Max: Fury Road and A Most Violent Year.

On Monday night, 26 November, the Gotham Awards, which honor independent film, selected Chloe Zhao’s The Rider as its best feature film of the year. Critics groups will soon start weighing in with their picks, starting with the New York Film Critics Circle on Thursday (Nov. 29).

Other prizes from the National Board of Review included best ensemble for the cast of the romantic-comedy hit Crazy Rich Asians; best documentary to the popular Ruth Bader Ginsberg chronicle RBG; best screenplay to Paul Schrader’s First Reformed; best animated feature to Incredibles 2 and best foreign language film to Cold War.

The awards will be handed out in on January 8 in New York at a gala hosted by Willie Geist.

Explore Our Lady Gaga Artist Page.

Format: Union Jack flagUK English
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

uDiscover Music - Back To Top
uDiscover Music - Back To Top