Taylor Swift Announces Surprise ‘Folklore’ Companion Album

Available at midnight tonight, ‘Evermore’ will serve as a sister title to Swift’s Grammy-nominated ‘Folklore.’

Published on

Taylor Swift
Photo: Beth Garrabrant

Taylor Swift’s fans got an early holiday gift this morning when the artist announced yet another surprise release. Evermore, Swift’s ninth studio album, drops at midnight tonight. The title, Swift confirmed, will serve as a companion to her Grammy-nominated LP Folklore, which arrived in July.

In addition to the new music, Swift will also share a video for the song “Willow” at midnight.

The 15-track album features contributions by Folklore collaborators Jack Antonoff, Aaron Dessner, Justin Vernon (Bon Iver), and Swift’s boyfriend, Joe Alwyn (credited as “William Bowery”). Additionally, Evermore includes a track with Haim (“No Body, No Crime”) as well as a song with Dessner’s band, The National (“Coney Island”).

An “elated” Swift shared the news of her latest work on Instagram, “To put it plainly, we just couldn’t stop writing songs. To try and put it more poetically, it feels like we were standing on the edge of the folklorian woods and had a choice: to turn and go back or to travel further into the forest of this music. We chose to wander deeper in. I’ve never done this before. In the past I’ve always treated albums as one-off eras and moved onto planning the next one after an album was released. There was something different with folklore. In making it, I felt less like I was departing and more like I was returning. I loved the escapism I found in these imaginary/not imaginary tales. I loved the ways you welcomed the dreamscapes and tragedies and epic tales of love lost and found into your lives. So I just kept writing them.”

Swift, who turns 31 on Sunday, continued, “Ever since I was 13, I’ve been excited about turning 31 because it’s my lucky number backwards, which is why I wanted to surprise you with this now. You’ve all been so caring, supportive and thoughtful on my birthdays and so this time I thought I would give you something! I also know this holiday season will be a lonely one for most of us and if there are any of you out there who turn to music to cope with missing loved ones the way I do, this is for you.”

Fans looking for something extra can pick up a deluxe, physical edition of Evermore, which includes two bonus tracks: “Right Where You Left Me” and “It’s Time to Go.” Digital downloads, meanwhile, will feature an exclusive, digital booklet with 16 new photos.

Evermore is available on December 11. Scroll down to view the tracklist and preorder it here.

Evermore tracklist:
1. Willow
2. Champagne Problems
3. Gold Rush
4. ‘Tis the Damn Season
5. Tolerate It
6. No Body, No Crime (feat. Haim)
7. Happiness
8. Dorothea
9. Coney Island (feat. The National)
10. Ivy
11. Cowboy Like Me
12. Long Story Short
13. Marjorie
14. Closure
15. Evermore (feat. Bon Iver)

Bonus tracks
Right Where You Left Me
It’s Time to Go

Click to comment
Comments are temporarily disabled and will return shortly.
John Lennon - Mind Games The Ultimate Collection
John Lennon
Mind Games (The Ultimate Collection)
Frank Zappa - Apostrophe 50th Anniversary Edition
Frank Zappa
Apostrophe (50th Anniversary Edition)
Johnny Cash - Songwriter LP
Johnny Cash
Songwriter LP
Beastie Boys - Ill Communication Deluxe Edition 3LP
Beastie Boys
Ill Communication Deluxe Edition 3LP
Nina Simone - Nina Simone In Concert LP
Nina Simone
Nina Simone In Concert (LP)
Nelly Furtado - Whoa, Nelly! 2LP
Nelly Furtado
Whoa, Nelly! 2LP
uDiscover Music - Back To Top
uDiscover Music - Back To Top