The Who’s ‘My Generation’ And ‘A Quick One’ For Half-Speed Remasters

Out on May 6, the limited edition black vinyl versions have been mastered by longtime Who engineer Jon Astley.

Published on

The Who -Photo: GAB Archive/Redferns
The Who - Photo: GAB Archive/Redferns

Two classic albums by The Who, My Generation and A Quick One, are to be released as the first in a series of high quality, half-speed mastered editions.

Out on May 6, the limited edition black vinyl versions have been mastered by longtime Who engineer Jon Astley. They’ve been cut by Miles Showell at Abbey Road Studios, in the mastering technique that produces a superior vinyl cut. The LPs are packaged in their original sleeves with obi strips and certificates of authenticity.

The Kids Are Alright

Click to load video

The My Generation album, produced by Shel Talmy, was released as The Who’s debut long player in December 1965, a month after its immortal title track. The LP reached No.5 in an initial 11-week run in the UK charts, spending an aggregate five weeks in the Top 10. The set returned to the Top 20 in 1980. It’s been cited as an all-time great by Rolling Stone, Mojo, and NME and was chosen as “culturally significant” for the Library of Congress’ National Recording Registry, to be preserved and archived for all time.

The follow-up set A Quick One arrived a year later, this time produced by Kit Lambert was released in late 1966, a week after the single “Happy Jack,” which was not on the original UK release, although it was on the US edition. The album reached No.4 in 17 consecutive weeks on the UK bestsellers. It saw The Who broadening their scope into more experimental compositions, such as the nine-minute title track. It also included such enduring Who songs as “So Sad About Us” and John Entwistle‘s “Boris The Spider.”

Pre-order the half-speed remasters of My Generation and A Quick One.

The My Generation tracklist is:
Out In The Street
I Don’t Mind
The Good’s Gone
Much Too Much
My Generation

The Kids Are Alright
Please, Please, Please
It’s Not True
I’m A Man
A Legal Matter
The Ox

The A Quick One tracklist is:

Run Run Run
Boris The Spider
I Need You
Whiskey Man
Cobwebs And Strange

Don’t Look Away
See My Way
So Sad About Us
A Quick One, While He’s Away


Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

uDiscover Music - Back To Top
uDiscover Music - Back To Top