(function(h,o,t,j,a,r){ h.hj=h.hj||function(){(h.hj.q=h.hj.q||[]).push(arguments)}; h._hjSettings={hjid:104204,hjsv:5}; a=o.getElementsByTagName('head')[0]; r=o.createElement('script');r.async=1; r.src=t+h._hjSettings.hjid+j+h._hjSettings.hjsv; a.appendChild(r); })(window,document,'//static.hotjar.com/c/hotjar-','.js?sv=');


Tom Jones Releases Early Decca Rarities Collection ‘Hide & Seek’

The 29-track set covers just over a decade, from Jones’ early recording days in 1964 through to 1975.

Published on

uDiscover Music image background
Tom Jones Hide & Seek album

Much-loved entertainer Tom Jones has released a new collection of rare and unreleased tracks from the early years of his epic career. Hide & Seek: The Lost Collection was issued yesterday (13) by Decca Records.

The 29-track set covers just over a decade in the Welsh vocalist’s life, from his early recording days in 1964 through to 1975. Many tracks on the album have never previously been available digitally and all of them showcase his unique powers of interpretation.

“Pleased to be able to share with you a special collection of rarities and previously unheard tracks,” wrote Jones on social media. ⁣⁣”It’s a thrill to hear these early recordings again after all these years!”

Tracks on Hide & Seek include his versions of ‘Any Day Now,’ a hit for his friend Elvis Presley, written by Burt Bacharach and Bob Hilliard in 1962 and a success for Chuck Jackson that year; the Spencer Davis Group staple ‘Keep On Running’; the blues ballad ‘Pledging My Love’⁣,’ closely associated with Johnny Ace, also recorded by Presley; and Jerry Reed’s tribute to Elvis, ‘Tupelo Mississippi Flash.’

Jones is currently scheduled to co-headline (with his namesake Grace Jones) the first Hideaway Festival in Hylands Park, Chelmsford, which is due to take place 14-16 August. Others on the bill include Beverley Knight, Macy Gray, Eric Bibb and the Blues Band.

Hide & Seek: The Lost Collection is out now. Scroll down for the tracklisting, and buy it here.

Listen to the best of Tom Jones on Apple Music and Spotify.

01 – Breathless
02 – City Girl
03 – Promise Her Anything
04 – Once There Was A Time
05 – If I Had You
06 – Triple Cross
07 – Any Day Now
08 – It Ain’t Gonna Be That Way
09 – The Lonely One
10 – Things I Wanna Do
11 – Day By Day
12 – Hide And Seek
13 – The Man Who Knows Too Much
14 – Tupelo Mississippi Flash
15 – Keep On Running
16 – Don’t Fight It
17 – Every Mile
18 – The Sun Died
19 – All That I Need Is Some Time
20 – Golden Days
21 – Goodbye, God Bless You
22 – Thank The Lord
23 – Keep A Talkin’ ‘Bout Love
24 – Pledging My Love
25 – I’m Too Far Gone To Turn Around
26 – La La La (Just Having You Here)
27 – Love Love Love
28 – Ain’t No Love
29 – When The Band Goes Home

Format: UK English


  1. Jerry Withers

    March 18, 2020 at 5:32 pm

    It’s about time Decca released this album! Only… WHY are the first 20-odd seconds of “Tupelo Mississippi Flash” MISSING?!? The song makes no sense without that intro! Come ON, UMC – Sir Tom deserves BETTER than THAT!!!

  2. Linda brown

    April 10, 2020 at 10:56 am

    Please please put all these wonderfully songs by the great Tom Jones on to cd format. Been waiting so long for many of these mainly b sides which I ended up listening to more than the a sides when the 45s first came out. Love Tom Jones, love his music, best singer ever.

  3. DennyE

    May 3, 2020 at 4:00 pm

    Do we know if these tracks have been remastered? ..

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Don't Miss