Updated Four-Disc Anthology Salutes ‘Legacy’ Of Glen Campbell

The collection gathers together 78 favourite songs from the unmatched catalogue of one of the great entertainers in pop and country history.

Published on

Glen Campbell The Legacy 4CD packshot

A new, four-disc anthology of the remarkable career of Glen Campbell is now on release from Capitol/UMe. Glen Campbell — The Legacy [1961-2017] is an updated and expanded edition of the long-unavailable box set that came out in 2003.

The collection, released on 21 June, features no fewer than 78 favourite songs from the unmatched catalogue of one of the great entertainers in pop and country history. It travels through his earliest songs, taking in such timeless signatures as ‘Gentle On My Mind,’ ‘By The Time I Get To Phoenix,’ ‘Galveston,’ ‘Wichita Lineman,’ ‘Rhinestone Cowboy’ and ‘Southern Nights,’ culminating in his equally unforgettable final recordings.

Gentle On My Mind Glen CampbellThe Legacy is a chronological depiction of a unique career that made Campbell a Grammy-winning figurehead of pop and country music for six decades, with worldwide album sales alone of more than 50 million. The beautiful presentation includes a 60-page booklet and updated liner notes by the well-known music writer Joel Selvin, who penned the original notes.

The new set adds songs from the extraordinary final chapters of his body of work, with selections from 2008’s Meet Glen Campbell, 2011’s Ghost On The Canvas, the 2014 soundtrack to the revealing and poignant documentary Glen Campbell: I’ll Be Me and the 2017 album Adiós, released just before his death from complications from his long fight with Alzheimer’s.  

The collection begins with Campbell’s very first single, the 1961 release ‘Turn Around, Look At Me,’ taking in other early releases such as ‘Too Late To Worry — Too Blue To Cry,’ Buffy Sainte Marie’s ‘Universal Soldier’ and ‘Guess I’m Dumb,’ written and produced by Glen’s friend Brian Wilson. It embraces his first work with the man who helped create what became his signature early sound, producer Al De Lory, from 1967’s ‘Gentle On My Mind’ onwards.

Meet Glen Campbell“Despite a modest chart performance,” writes Selvin in his liner notes, “‘Gentle On My Mind’ did turn out to be the definitive record of Campbell’s career, the point where he not only took charge of his own artistic destiny but became his own creation.”

Glen Campbell — The Legacy [1961-2017] includes songs from almost all of the 60-plus albums of Campbell’s lifetime. It acknowledges not only his best-loved solo recordings but his duets with Bobbie Gentry, Anne Murray, Rita Coolidge and Steve Wariner. As the set arrives at his final decade of recording, we hear his interpretations of songs by such contemporary artists as Foo Fighters, Green Day and Jackson Browne.

There are three songs from the moving Adiós album, including the title track written by his collaborator of 50 years, kindred spirit Jimmy Webb. Campbell’s last-ever recording, the heart-rending farewell ‘I’m Not Gonna Miss You,’ is also included. This track from the Glen Campbell: I’ll Be Me documentary won a Grammy for Best Country Song.

Glen Campbell — The Legacy [1961-2017] is out now. Scroll down for the full tracklisting, and buy it here.



1. Turn Around, Look At Me
2. Kentucky Means Paradise (The Green River Boys featuring Glen Campbell)
3. Too Late To Worry – Too Blue To Cry
4. Universal Soldier
5. Guess I’m Dumb
6. Burning Bridges
7. Just To Satisfy You
8. Less Of Me
9. Gentle On My Mind
10. Cryin’
11. By The Time I Get To Phoenix
12. Tomorrow Never Comes
13. Hey, Little One
14. I Wanna Live
15. Turn Around And Look At Me (New Version)
16. The Legend Of Bonnie And Clyde
17. Let It Be Me (Glen Campbell & Bobbie Gentry)
18. Scarborough Fair / Canticle (Glen Campbell & Bobbie Gentry)
19. Wichita Lineman
20. Dreams Of The Everyday Housewife
21. Reason To Believe

1. Galveston
2. Where’s The Playground Susie
3. If This Is Love
4. True Grit
5. Try A Little Kindness
6. Honey, Come Back
7. One Pair Of Hands
8. All I Have To Do Is Dream (Glen Campbell & Bobbie Gentry)
9. Everything A Man Could Ever Need
10.It’s Only Make Believe
11. Pave Your Way Into Tomorrow
12. MacArthur Park
13. Dream Baby (How Long Must I Dream)
14. The Last Time I Saw Her
15. I Say A Little Prayer / By The Time I Get To Phoenix (Medley) (Glen Campbell & Anne Murray)
16. The Last Thing On My Mind
17. I Knew Jesus (Before He Was A Star)
18. I’m So Lonesome I Could Cry
19. Houston (I’m Comin’ To See You)
20. Bonaparte’s Retreat
21. The Moon’s A Harsh Mistress

1. Rhinestone Cowboy
2. Country Boy (You Got Your Feet In L.A.)
3. Arkansas
4. Don’t Pull Your Love / Then You Can Tell Me Goodbye (Medley)
5. Southern Nights
6. Sunflower
7. God Only Knows
8. I’m Gonna Love You
9. Can You Fool
10. Highwayman
11. Somethin’ ’Bout You Baby I Like (Glen Campbell With Rita Coolidge)
12. Any Which Way You Can
13. I Was Too Busy Loving You
14. Faithless Love
15. A Lady Like You
16. The Hand That Rocks The Cradle (Glen Campbell With Steve Wariner)
17. I Have You
18. If These Walls Could Speak
19. Unconditional Love
20. She’s Gone, Gone, Gone
21. Show Me Your Way (Glen Campbell & Anne Murray)
22. Only One Life
23. Somebody Like That

1. You’ll Never Walk Alone
2. People Get Ready
3. Amazing Grace
4. Lean On Me
5. Times Like These
6. These Days
7. Good Riddance (Time Of Your Life)
8. Ghost On The Canvas
9. Waiting On The Comin’ Of My Lord
10. I’m Not Gonna Miss You
11. Everybody’s Talkin’
12. It Won’t Bring Her Back
13. Adiós

Explore our Glen Campbell Artist Page.

Format: Union Jack flagUK English
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

uDiscover Music - Back To Top
uDiscover Music - Back To Top