Van Morrison Announces New Album ‘The Prophet Speaks’

Van Morrison returns to his blues roots once again on ‘The Prophet Speaks’, set for release on 7 December via Caroline International.

Published on

Van Morrison The Prophet Speaks

Van Morrison returns to his blues roots once again with his new upcoming album The Prophet Speaks, set for release on 7 December via Caroline International.

This is the prolific musician’s 40th studio album, following his previous release You’re Driving Me Crazy that came out this past April.

In the same vein as You’re Driving Me Crazy, the album is collection of originals alongside eight covers of classics including Sam Cooke’s ‘Laughin’ and Clownin’, ‘Dimples’ by John Lee Hooker, Solomon Burke’s ‘Gotta Get You Off My Mind’ and ‘I Love the Life I Live’ by Willie, among others.

Morrison also teamed up with organist and trumpeter Joey DeFrancesco, who he collaborated with on You’re Driving Me Crazy and enlisted his own band, featuring guitarist Dan Wilson, drummer Michael Ode and tenor saxophonist Troy Roberts for the record.

Being his fourth album in the span of 18 months, the Northern Irish singer-songwriter shared his motivation behind the new album in a statement:

“It was important for me to get back to recording new music as well as doing some of the blues material that has inspired me from the beginning,” Morrison said. “Writing songs and making music is what I do and working with great musicians makes it all the more enjoyable.”

In anticipation of the new album, Morrison has released the new title track, along with the track listing for The Prophet Speaks.

You can pre-order the album here.

Order-Now” width=

The Prophet Speaks Track List

1. ‘Gonna Send You Back to Where I Got You From’ (Eddie “Cleanhead” Vinson, Leona Blackman)
2. ‘Dimples’ (John Lee Hooker, James Bracken)
3. ‘Got to Go Where the Love Is’ (Van Morrison)
4. ‘Laughin’ and Clownin’’ (Sam Cooke)
5. ‘5 AM Greenwich Mean Time’ (Van Morrison)
6.’Gotta Get You Off My Mind’ (Solomon Burke, Delores Burke, Josephine Burke Moore)
7. ‘Teardrops’ (J.D. Harris)
8. ‘I Love the Life I Live’ (Willie Dixon)
9. ‘Worried Blues / Rollin’ and Tumblin’’ (J.D. Harris)
10. ‘’Ain’t Gonna Moan No More’(Van Morrison)
11. ‘Love is a Five Letter Word’ (Gene Barge)
12. ‘Love is Hard Work’ (Van Morrison)
13. ‘Spirit Will Provide’ (Van Morrison)
14. ‘The Prophet Speaks”’ (Van Morrison)

Format: Union Jack flagUK English
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

uDiscover Music - Back To Top
uDiscover Music - Back To Top