The Chemical Brothers Unveil New Single, ‘Got To Keep On’, Reveal ‘No Geography’ Tracklist

The duo’s long-awaited new album, ‘No Geography’, is out on Virgin/EMI on 12 April.

Published on

Chemical Brothers Got To Keep On
Photo: Hamish Brown

The Chemical Brothers have announced details of the ninth studio album, No Geography. The album is due for release on Virgin/EMI on 12 April 2019, and today unveil the latest single – the irresistibly euphoric ‘Got To Keep On’. You can hear  ‘Got To Keep On’ below here.

Click to load video

At some point during the recording of No Geography, Tom Rowlands and Ed Simons pushed the reset button. It began with the construction of a studio within a studio – a tiny makeshift room that housed the kind of kit they’d previously used to record the bulk of their first two albums; equipment that had sat gathering (freestyle) dust in Rowlands’ attic for the last twenty years. That experimental space offered a freedom and the chance to create music and tell their own story in a way they hadn’t done for years.

Wherever possible, things were done differently. Randomness and jagged edges were encouraged and songs were built around vocal samples; voices were wound tightly into music that Rowlands and Simons found themselves following wherever it led them. Snatches of dialogue from the late ’60s experimental Dial-A-Poem project were chosen that reflected the mood in the studio. Songs were road tested in front of audiences as part of the 2018 live set (which took in two shows at Alexandra Palace – the band’s biggest UK headline shows to date) and honed in regular DJ sets the world over.

The resulting album is an extraordinary musical liberation. Hurtling from righteous rage to wide-eyed wonder, from half-speed acid to jacking house and dreamy analogue noise, it’s nothing less than a route map to the future.

No Geography features the previously released tracks ‘Free Yourself’ and ‘MAH’ (“a short & bloody ride into our modern media psychosis” The Guardian) and the forthcoming single ‘Got To Keep On’. Several of the tracks on No Geography feature vocals by Norwegian singer/songwriter Aurora who wrote and recorded parts in the band’s studio in close collaboration with the band. Japanese rapper Nene features on ‘Eve of Destruction.’

As uDiscover Music previously reported, The Chemical Brothers will be supporting the release of No Geography with a series of global dates, which kick off on 11 May in Mexico at the Corona Capital, Guadalajara Festival.  The band will also be playing US and UK tour dates and they will also be headlining London’s All Points East on 24 May and Creamfields in Daresbury, UK, on 24 August. For tickets and further information about all the dates, visit the band’s official website.

No Geography includes the following tracks:

‘Eve Of Destruction’
‘No Geography’
‘Got To Keep On’
‘Gravity Drops’
‚The Universe Sent Me‘
‚We’ve Got To Try’
‘Free Yourself’
‘Catch Me I’m Falling‘

No Geography is out on 12 April and can be bought here.


Format: Union Jack flagUK English
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

uDiscover Music - Back To Top
uDiscover Music - Back To Top