JD McPherson To Return In New Year

Published on

Widely-praised songwriter-performer JD McPherson will have his new album ‘Let The Good Times Roll’ released by Rounder Records on February 9, 2015. He’s announced European tour dates ahead of the record’s appearance, in January, with his regular band of Jimmy Sutton (upright bass), Jason Smay (drums), Ray Jacildo (keys) and Doug Corcoran (saxophone, guitar, keyboards).

The new album is co-produced by McPherson and Mark Neill, who’s worked with the Black Keys, Ol’ 97s, Los Straitjackets and others. The set was recorded at Soil of the South Studio in Valdosta, Georgia, and further recording took place with Alex Hall at HiStyle Studio in Chicago, Illinois and Michael Trepagnier at 3CG Studio in Tulsa, Oklahoma. Black Keys guitarist-vocalist Dan Auerbach co-wrote ‘Bridge Builder’ for the album with McPherson.

“Much of the new song material was asking for a different sonic treatment,” says JD. “I was thinking of these big, bombastic sounds; lots of guitars, tons of percussion; plate reverb.”

McPherson made a strong impression with his 2012 debut album ‘Signs and Signifiers,’ described by Mojo magazine as “an utterly irresistible, slicked-back triumph.” Rolling Stone named him as an Artist To Watch” and NPR as an “Artist You Should Know.”

The European dates begin in Rotterdam on January 22 and include five in the UK, starting at Islington Assembly Hall in London on the 22nd of that month.

Format: Union Jack flagUK English
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

uDiscover Music - Back To Top
uDiscover Music - Back To Top