Capitol Nashville’s Mickey Guyton ‘Speaks Her Truth’ On New EP ‘Bridges’

The EP includes the previously released ‘What Are You Gonna Tell Her?,’ ‘Black Like Me and current single ‘Heaven Down Here.’

Published on

Mickey Guyton credit Phylicia JL Munn
Photo: Phylicia J.L. Munn

Capitol Nashville recording artist Mickey Guyton has today (11) released her new EP, Bridges. As promised, the six-song release features material all co-written by Guyton herself, including the previously released “What Are You Gonna Tell Her?,” “Black Like Me” and her current single “Heaven Down Here.”

The rising star continues to attract praise far and wide for her work, described by Paste as “the unapologetic voice country music needs right now.” Associated Press says that the Texas native is “turning a mirror on country music by speaking her truth.”

Mickey Guyton - Heaven Down Here (Official Lyric Video)

Click to load video

Next Wednesday (16), Guyton will perform “What Are You Gonna Tell Her?” as part of the Academy of Country Music Awards. The show will air live at 8pm ET on CBS. The track was lauded by Variety as “…exquisitely sung, moving and brilliant.” NPR called it “a cry of the heart by a remarkable singer and writer who deserves to be a full-on superstar.”

The artist told Rolling Stone of her approach to her music: “Over the last couple of years I’ve changed my whole way of thinking to try to be as truthful and honest as I possibly can, about my life and what I’ve gone through, and about my feelings. For some reason in country music, they want just everything to be light and fluffy, but my world isn’t always light and fluffy.”

Mickey Guyton - Salt (Official Audio)

Click to load video

An early UK review of the EP by says that Bridges “is where country music needs to be in 2020, documenting the real human experience, yet nodding back to its sonic roots and traditional sound and storytelling element you can find on [track 5] ‘Salt.’ This EP breaks your heart, puts it back together and helps you find peace all in one project.”

The Bridges EP is out now and can be bought here.

The full Bridges tracklist is:

“Heaven Down Here”*
(Mickey Guyton, Gordie Sampson, Josh Kear, Hillary Lindsey)

(Mickey Guyton, Karen Kosowski, Victoria Banks, Emma-Lee)

“What Are You Gonna Tell Her?”*
(Mickey Guyton, Karen Kosowski, Victoria Banks, Emma-Lee)

(Mickey Guyton, Victoria Banks, Karen Kosowski)

(Mickey Guyton, Jesse Frasure, Carly Barlowe, Steven Lee Olsen)

“Black Like Me”+
(Mickey Guyton, Nathan Chapman, Fraser Churchill, Emma Davidson-Dillon)

*Produced by Karen Kosowski
** Produced by Karen Kosowki and Forest Whitehead
+Produced by Nathan Chapman and Forest Whitehead

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

uDiscover Music - Back To Top
uDiscover Music - Back To Top