Rod Stewart Back In Bloom With ‘Blood Red Roses’ Album

The new album is the follow-up to 2015’s global million-seller Another Country.

Published on

Rod Stewart has announced the release of his 30th studio album Blood Red Roses, to be issued worldwide by Decca and Republic Records on 28 September. It will be available as both a 13-track standard and 16-track digital release.

It’s the follow-up to 2015’s global million-seller Another Country, which itself came on the heels of the 2013 set Time. That created a UK chart record by going to No. 1 some 37 years since Stewart’s previous chart-topper in his home country, 1976’s A Night On The Town.

The new album was previewed by the radio premiere today (19 July), on BBC Radio 2 in the UK, of the first single ‘Didn’t I,’ described as a song “about the damage drugs can do from a parent’s point of view.”

Blood Red Roses continues the latest chapter in Stewart’s epic career, which has seen his return to songwriting and storytelling as he continues to thrill audiences with his live shows. The album, produced by the star’s longtime collaborator Kevin Savigar, contains Rod’s own new songs and three covers. “I always think I make albums for a few friends and this record has that intimacy,” says Stewart.  ‘Sincerity and honesty go a long way in life and the same is true in songwriting.”

The artist, whose career sales now total over 200 million albums and singles worldwide, recently resumed his Rod Stewart: The Hits residency at the celebrated Las Vegas location Caesar’s Palace, for seven dates in June. The show debuted there in 2011 and has played to more than half a million people, with Stewart performing such anthems as ‘Maggie May,’ ‘You Wear It Well,’ ‘Do Ya Think I’m Sexy,’ ‘Hot Legs,’ ‘The First Cut is the Deepest’ and ‘Tonight’s The Night.

The two-time Rock and Roll Hall of Fame inductee has extensive North American dates booked for the rest of 2018 with special guest Cyndi Lauper. He will then resume the Las Vegas show from 21 November, with six more shows confirmed there.

Forbes writer Steve Baltin said of the entertainer’s concert at the Hollywood Bowl in June: “To Stewart’s immense credit the show always felt completely organic and just a celebration of an iconic career and the music he clearly loves and wants to share with his fans. That he has been able to do it so well for so long maybe his ultimate legacy.”

Blood Red Roses is released on 28 September 2018. Scroll down to read the full track list, and buy it here.


The track list for Blood Red Roses is as follows:

1. Look In Her Eyes
2. Hole In My Heart
3. Farewell
4. Didn’t I
5. Blood Red Roses
6. Grace
7. Give Me Love
8. Rest Of My Life
9. Rollin’ & Tumblin’
10. Julia
11. Honey Gold
12. Vegas Shuffle
13. Cold Old London

Deluxe edition bonus tracks:

1. Who Designed The Snowflake
2. It Was A Very Good Year
3. I Don’t Want To Get Married

Explore our Rod Stewart Artist Page.

Format: Union Jack flagUK English
1 Comment

1 Comment

  1. sue steels

    July 20, 2018 at 1:52 pm

    roll on september 28th

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

uDiscover Music - Back To Top
uDiscover Music - Back To Top